RSS Feed

I DID NOT PUT MY TREE UP

I DID NOT PUT MY TREE UP

It’s not always easy to find that perfect spot or even a spot at all for a Christmas tree in this very small house. After one year of giving up and not putting up the tree I decided that just wasn’t going to happen again. Here is the story (a very bad read-it-and-weep poem) of our year without a tree. Everyone needs a tree!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THE YEAR WITHOUT A CHRISTMAS TREE

Last year I did not put my tree up.

I could not find the room.

There was not an inch to spare.

Not in a corner or next to the chair. 

I did not put my tree up. 

So what did it matter? 

Who needs a tree?

When there would only be three. 

I did not put my tree up. 

No needles to sweep.

And no money spent. 

But alas, not even a whiff of that sweet Christmas scent. 

I did not put my tree up. 

Why it would be hardly worth it. 

Would it even be missed? 

Not by me, I insist!

So…I did not put my tree up.

And it was very sad.

I thought and I thought throughout the next year.

Now here was the answer – right here!

I will this year put my tree up.

Yes, there will be a place! 

A perfect corner now cleared.

So we all can now cheer! 

 

Tree 2015

  Yes! I put my tree up!


Did you put your tree up?

~Elle  

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

21 responses »

  1. There is just something magical about the tree being up. I love just sitting and relaxing in front of ours at night with the lights on. Great place to read, or lay out on the sofa for a nap. Glad you put yours up, Elle. Happy holidays. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. And very nice it looks too, despite the unfound lights!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. And a lovely tree it is! Hadn’t planned to put one up (just two with no expected guests in the next two weeks), but spontaneously picked up a little 4-foot table-topper yesterday. I’ve compromised between simplicity and decked out!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Andrew in college and still comes home for Christmas so I feel bad if there’s no tree. Didn’t seem to bother him and H last year though. Made me sad even though I decorated my Norfolk pine. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  4. I don’t “do Christmas” and I do not miss it. I find it amusing, to see how everyone follows the Corporate agenda. I find the endless repetition of the music, like drek. I don’t do presents, or expect them, or want them. Last year, I turned on the picture of the fireplace with the logs burning. That was it. For three days. No TV except for the logs. Kept myself to myself and got by, the execrable season.

    While it is mostly for children. It seems nobody really buys the peace on earth and goodwill for all, much anymore. If they ever did? More bombs dropping on a sovereign nations. Syria, the size of N.Dakota. Mr. Assad was elected democratically, at least that’s the official version.

    So, why? His family has held power for some years. Yet it seems as if most people there embrace that. If that was a reason for warring on them? Then N.Korea, among other places, should have been first up?

    Nope the reasons, like Iraq. Libya and Morocco. Were because they dared trade their oil for real time wealth of gold. Instead of the worthless paper offered by the Rothschild banks. Called Petrodollars. The U.S.A has been scamming the oil producing world, for years. Propped up by the archaic kingdoms of Saudi Arabia and Britain.

    Mr. Gaddafi was taken out, not because he was dictator. But because he dared trade the oil of his nation for the gold dinar. … Oh yeah, peace on earth and goodwill to all? Not when you’re a zionist.

    Apologies for grandstanding, through your comments Elle. I was trying to show solidarity of “no trees”/ But it took over. Erase if you wish. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. We now have our tree up too!! A real one that required the whole living room to be reorganized!!! but its done… And as a bonus, the room is also cleaned.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I’d love to not put a tree up but my husband insists!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I did put my tree up 🙂
    Got a live one this year. We’ve had many kinds of trees over the years, skinny tree for smaller home, enormous tree for biggest home, pre-lit tree that I will never buy again, but also we like the live trees. Mmm, the smell, the shapes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

