RSS Feed

Christmas Stars, Dr. Seuss, The Wizard of Oz, And Family Traditions – We All Have Them

Here’s another Christmas tale I published a few years ago. I still have those stars…Andrew still doesn’t like them…My girls do…and I also parted with a couple of them this year… ~Elle

Finding Myself Through Writing

I love to discover remnants from the past as I unpack my Christmas décor every year. The first of my  discoveries this year were the stars. Oh my! There were lots of stars, but not as many as I used to have as I have shared them with all my girls who have an interest in family traditions. Andrews’ stars I still have and may never give to him. You see, he doesn’t like them –  never has – and probably never will!

There is a story behind these stars. They are plain old plastic five-pointed stars used most commonly in store window displays. They probably date back to the late fifty’s. They hung on Aunt Tishy’s Christmas tree every year. There were probably a few hundred of them sparkling and twinkling down at us from each limb.

The story I remember being told was Aunt Tishy was in New York during the Christmas…

View original post 473 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

6 responses »

  1. Again, I ache with envy, really. You have such a sense of family, past and present. I never had that, ever. I am grateful I can live and feel vicariously through you and your outstanding, ongoing candor. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

