RSS Feed

HO – HO – HO AND A BOTTLE OF RUM

HO – HO – HO AND A BOTTLE OF RUM

Aww…the smell of Christmas is in the air. Rum cake is in the oven and cheese balls are nestled in the fridge.

I don’t know about you, but it’s not Christmas without them. My mother made rum cakes every Christmas, often for all her nurses until she realized exactly how much each was costing her! It was the same thing with the cheese balls. The cost of ingredients kept going up – up – up!

 

Cheese Balls

                             Cheese Balls

We also call this rum cake her funeral cake because she made it for the family anytime someone close passed away.  I remember it more at Christmas time though,  trying to stay out-of-sight-out-of-mind during the time of deaths.

Mother always saved out a cup of batter from the rum cake if I wasn’t around to lick the bowl – even after I had children of my own and should have been making that cake myself. I never got sick from eaten that batter with five raw eggs in it. Shhhh, I still eat it. You haven’t lived until you do.

 

Mmmmm good!

                             Mmmmm good!

All my girls make rum cakes at Christmas time now and they also make the traditional cheese balls.

Jessie's rum cake because it looked better than mine!

Jessie’s rum cake because it looked better than mine!

I’m not sure if Andrew ever will though. He doesn’t like the cheese ball – doesn’t know what he’s missing! He loves rum cake though and when he was little he asked Granny if she could make it with out the brown stuff on the outside. We haven’t figured out yet how to make just the inside of a cake!

What holiday cooking traditions are you passing down from your family?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. OMGosh! The memory of licking the bowl after my mom made a cake; any cake. I also managed to get the spoon, and the mixer blades. Sadly we don’t eat cake – except on the rare occasion when two bananas go over ripe, and it’s winter which is too cold for smoothies.

    I can’t recall anything cake/pie wise other than apple pie and banana cake. Oh, and the occasional lemon meringue pie 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hope you had a marvelous Christmas, Elle. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I love that it was her funeral cake, so apt and funny. Life is like that…it bleats the simplicity of things. You’ve mentioned your mother a lot: her ornaments, cake…I am so envious you had such a lovely relationship with her. There you are early in the morning honoring her with tradition. That’s the legacy we should all have 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Merry Christmas Elle,
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I’m so happy Jessie got a chance to have a beautiful cake! The other picture was quite nice though. You should have posted it too…. Example for Rum Cake in a pan only sprayed with Pam! I told her to be sure to add greased and Floured pan to her recipe! Sorry Jessie. My mistake… but I did have to learn the hard way too!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Mine only looked good after I ruined the first one! The recipe says greased pan but it fell to pieces and stuck really bad. I called Aunt Debbie and she told me to crisco and flour the pan and it came out perfect! Rum cake dump cake tastes good but is not the same as the pretty bundt pan shape! Lol! …… Also candy cane reindeer! Not expensive but a very time consuming tradition you passed down to us. Wish I could leave a pic in the comments!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

