RSS Feed

HOW NOT TO WRAP GIFTS

HOW NOT TO WRAP GIFTS

I don’t mind wrapping gifts – really I don’t – but when you multiply that by four and ever-so-more, it’s a time-consuming effort at the very least.  That is when it becomes an art. 

When T and K were about fifteen I finally figured it out. You see, they were at the age of really wanting no more than clothes for gifts – store bought clothes – but that’s another story. It was before cell phones, laptop computers, and any electronic gadgets except for maybe Pac Man, were at the top of their wish lists because  of the fact they had not yet been invented. 

So clothes it would be. I figured that if I wrapped everything separate they would assume they were getting more. A pair of pants with a sweater to match turned into two gifts. Jeans and a t-shirt were two more. Inexpensive jewelry from Claire’s would fit in a stocking. It could go on and on. 

With Amie three years younger and Jessie seven years younger than her I found I now had a bigger problem. Of course the gifts had to be even-Steven count wise. They would know – even the youngest could count. 

That’s a whole lotta gift wrapping, not even counting extended family, friends, inlaws and outlaws. So I took it to the next level. 

  
I then had my brainstorm moment! I gathered all the gifts for the kids in one room with paper and scissors, tape and bows. I boxed them all up, taped tightly shut, and labeled each gift box with a name. I then made out a gift card for each box. 

That’s when the fun began. I had T and K wrap all those presents for themselves and their sisters and add the gift cards to each never knowing what was in each box. I figured there would not be much grumbling with having to do a bit of work because of the kind of work that was being done and I was right!  There was a lot of guessing between them though. 

That was the year I learned how not to wrap gifts! 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

16 responses »

  1. Elle, I need to adopt that idea for next year. Very smart. ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Cute post! Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone. From: Finding Myself Through WritingSent: Monday, December 28, 2015 5:34 AMTo: herbreed@aol.comReply To: Finding Myself Through WritingSubject: [New post] HOW NOT TO WRAP GIFTS

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    Elle Knowles posted: “I don’t mind wrapping gifts – really I don’t – but when you multiply that by four and ever-so-more, it’s a time-consuming effort at the very least.  That is when it becomes an art. 

    When T and K were about fifteen I finally figured it out. You “

    Like

    Reply
  3. I hate wrapping presents. The year that gift bags started popping up in stores I heard the angels sing the Hallelujah chorus! Drop the gift in the bag, stuff with a piece of tissue paper and put a name on it. I like your solution too. I didn’t have children so I had to improvise with the bags.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I remember wrapping my own too! And i tell Cadence about it every year! Haha! This year i completely gave up on ribbons and bows. With three kids trying to open presents it just makes it harder for them and they don’t notice there aren’t any bows anyway! One day I’ll wrap pretty presents again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Smart move. I cheat and go with gift bags if I can. Thankfully, my wife is better at the wrapping than me. Well she says she is and I realized arguing the point gave me the task.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

