RSS Feed

JUST A BIT FIT…

JUST A BIT FIT…

 

That’s right. I got a fitbit for Christmas – a fitbit Charge. H wondered why I didn’t want the next step up as in the one that monitors your heart rate. I don’t have any idea what my heart rate is to begin with, so why mess with the worry. As long as it’s beating I figure I’m good to go.

Now about that fitbit. This little wristband device is full of technology and tells me how many steps I have walked during the day as well as the distance I’ve covered. It was preset on 10,000 steps and that sounded good to me so I left it as is. I haven’t reached that goal yet because the weather has been so yucky I haven’t been out to run. But, you would be amazed at how many steps I have taken in this small house, most of them in this tiny kitchen.

I also get information on how many stairs I have climbed, which hasn’t been many,  for the simple fact I don’t have any stairs.

Stair Climbing

Stair Climbing

It has a clock and an alarm and keeps tabs on how many calories I take in and how many I burn. Taking in is a lot easier than burning I’m sure I will find out. I will have to get V to tutor me on how to use that calorie part next week.

Mr. Fitbit also tells me how often I’m active during the day. He always says zero minutes so I’m not sure how I made those 8567 steps one day. He can also track my exercise when and if I ever get up and start a routine – and I will – I promise.

What I am really in awe of is the sleep quality feature that works only if you wear this fashion accessory to bed, recording when you are asleep, awake, or restless through the night.

According to Mr. Fitbit I should average 7-9 hours of sleep every night. No way that is going to happen so I bumped it down to seven hours which will be stretching it. Oh well, it’s a goal I can work towards and will be easier to reach than an exercise goal. Don’t you think?

Sleep Tracker

Sleep Tracker

You can also see where I was awake 3 times during the night and restless 15 times with a total of 32 minutes out of almost 6 hours of sleep either awake or restless. I guess it could be worse. I haven’t yet rationalized how I made those 18 steps last night that recorded as I was sleeping. I’m pretty sure I didn’t get out of the bed.

My own little piece of technology

My own little piece of technology

So I’m just a bit fit and hopefully Mr. Fitbit will help me fix that!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

22 responses »

  1. I like the sound of that! 10000 steps seems a lot, though. Mind you, if it invents some that you’ve walked in your sleep…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. I have to get me one of these things.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Thoughts… I don’t think an electronic reminder would override my body-clock, or tell me that I should exercise more, but if the fit bit works for you then great, if it came inside a Christmas Cracker ~ Even Better!. I will try one because of the good reviews, I can’t promise to like it! 😇

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I don’t need to know my heart rate either. I’m with you, so which model of Fitbit did you receive? It seems that will work for me also. I’m curious how much sleep I receive since I’m up at least 3-4 times a night. Thanks

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  5. About 10 years ago my company had a health fair and a step tracking device was one of the give-aways. While I had a desk job, I didn’t consider myself sedentary as I was always walking around and very active at home. That’s not what the device said. It was so discouraging that I’ve never even considered a Fitbit. I hate bad news.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • Oh no! My husband teaches – music. He thinks that being out on the field on the podium is exercise. Waving your arms and yelling out commands to students is not going to cut it I told him. Think I’m going to get him one for his birthday. The Fitbit doesn’t lie…I don’t think! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. I’ve been wearing mine of a couple of years. Love it. We’ve had temps below (well-below) freezing, so my steps are mostly just around the house. I dance in the kitchen, a lot. Mine won’t count minutes I’m active until I’ve hit ten minutes in a row. That encourages you to be active longer which is good for your heart. I also find I do better is I set mini-goals throughout the day, like 5K steps by lunchtime. Have fun!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  7. I think it’s so great you got such a nice gift…well deserved 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  8. I love my fitbit. We get $250. a piece for meeting our walking goals via insurance deductibles. Our company is connected to Virgin Pulse. I like the stats posted on the site. They keep me motivated, even when my knee is hurting. I am going to have to have an MRI, though. It stings when I get farther than three miles in a day.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • Planning on putting mine to good use starting tomorrow when H goes back to work. So much easier to get into a routine when my time is my own! I believe those stats will keep me motivated too. Good luck with that MRI Susan.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

