RSS Feed

A DEPOSIT IN THE BANK OF LONG TERM CARE

A DEPOSIT IN THE BANK OF LONG TERM CARE

With Andrew still in college and not yet making a decent wage to feed, clothe, and entertain himself, the responsibility falls heavily on our shoulders. We have to pick up the slack. 

Thank goodness he is not a spendthrift, though he does enjoy a good meal of food and drink at Rodeo ever-so-often. Ramen Noodle would be so much cheaper. 

 

Ramen comes in a wide variet of flavors. What more could you ask for?

 
Lately it seems as though everything has come due for him at once. There’s been his rent, electricity, new semester books, and new tires for his not-so-new car, not to mention the holidays and before them that San Antonio trip for his performance at PASIC in November. These necessities have taken a toil on the bank account.  

He always thanks us profusely and sometimes calls or texts me in the middle of the day to say “thank you” and apologize for always needing money. I’m glad he realizes where it all comes from, knowing it doesn’t grow on trees.

 

Makes sense to me!


 
One afternoon, when his checking account had seen better days, I sent him a text to tell him I had just deposited my paycheck (that was a lean week for me) into his bank account. 

He texted me back, “I’m sorry I use all your money.” 

I told him not to worry about it. We considered it an investment in our long term care. 

Do you think he understood that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

24 responses »

  1. With low wages and bleak career opportunities our adult children often need our help. I support my two in many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. LOL. I love that last line. He really seems to appreciate all you do. I think he’s definitely a good investment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I can relate completely, and no, I doubt if they understand long-term care. That’s why I purchased long-term care insurance.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. He understood the deposit and has no idea what your long term care might mean. He sounds like a good guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I think Andrew understands, Elle. Also, I love the baby picture with the… all too real caption. College has always been too expensiveโ€”even more so these daysโ€”but I think most parents do their best. Have a terrific weekend, Elle.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I just thought Andrew would be an entertainer one day from all those costumes you used to make him! He did get good use out of them. He stayed in character for quite some time before he moved on to be someone else! He did become an entertainer in the music world. A product of both parents! And see! You are still making costumes for him! A vest and bow tie!!!

    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Parents seem to always want the best for their children. These days sending them off to college at the end of the regular schooling. Seems to be the normal, in these days?. In 1965 my father wanted me to go. Yet, I hated the school I was in that staying for another two years to get the qualifications required seemed an anathema. Beside there were many who had well-paid jobs that never saw the inside of a college, or university.

    There are some days, yet not too many, I regret that decision. What I feel prouder for, is that I was a wage earner and paid for my room while at home. There were plenty of weeks Mom let it slide. Yet, I did still pay my rent. More, as I aged. Until I left home for good.

    Didn’t even know what Ramen was until 1980’s. Then discovered Udon noodles at my local food store. I was hooked. Now, here in my new city. The packaged stuff, hits the ceiling. Not for me. I make my own broth. I know what went into it. I make my own noodles and vegetables that go into the soup. Spicing and flavouring the way I want. It’s still inexpensive and nutritious and oh so yummy!

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/05/ramen-nutrition-information-salty_n_5621918.html

    Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Reminds me of a story about my former step-son. In his second year in college he talked his dad into giving him food money instead of buying the college meal card. He was sharing an apartment with friends and wanted the independence of cooking his own. His dad agreed but said there would be no more food money and he had to budget. At the start he ate well, steaks, lobster, the works. By the end he was buying generic spaghetti at 3 boxes for a $1. I’m sure there were ramen noodles there too. He learned. He turned out to be a great person. I’m sure your son will too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Hahaha! Funny. Andrew has a meal card every semester because Troy automatically transfers a portion of his loan money to a meal card. He has no choice. The food on campus is so much more expensive than if he ate at the same fast food restaurant in town though. But he has to use it or lose it by the end of each semester. He eats pretty good for about two thirds of the semester before he runs out of money on his meal card. I can tell when Andrew cooks because he has an enormous Food World debit on his checking account. Maybe one day he will learn to shop for groceries. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

      Reply
  9. I love that he says thank you. Many kids expect without showing any appreciation. I’m sure he is sorry he spends your money. But one day when he ventures out into the world, in one way or another, will give it all back. He’s a great kid Elle ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. Elle!
    I just wanted to wish you a wonderful New Year!!
    Your writing has entertained and informed.

    Congrats on blogging successfully!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

