RSS Feed

OUT OF SIGHT – OUT OF MIND

OUT OF SIGHT – OUT OF MIND

AND THEN ADD SOCIAL MEDIA INTO         THE MIX…

Social media is a faster way of putting out there what you want others to know than word-of-mouth is. I was a little sad and also disappointed about a post I saw on social media one day. 

You never know about people. You put your trust in them and take them into your heart and then sometimes it backfires. Life happens, people change, and you have to get on with living.

At first glance I was shocked, then sad and disappointed, and now I’m just downright mad.

It’s one thing to back away, but another to put the entire blame on someone else, making them and everyone around them miserable, second-guessing themselves, and depressed.

I realize this post is a little evasive, but I’m just venting.

I tried not to get involved when the turn-of-events took place. I was there when needed and gave advice only when asked. I worried. I fretted. I was just a phone call away and I encouraged through it all.

And then…I did something I don’t usually do. I blocked someone from my personal Facebook page. I defriended, unfriended, and let go.

Did it make me feel better? Maybe a tiny bit. But at least I won’t have notices I would rather not see come up in my newsfeed.

Now that’s all I have to say about the matter.

…I found this essay, long forgotten, never published, lurking in my drafts folder in WordPress. I wrote it sometime in September and it took me a few minutes to realize what this rant was all about. 

Sometimes when we write down our feelings – get it off our chest, so to speak – that’s all it takes. BAM! We feel better. I now know that this turn-of-events was enevitable and for the best. 

Funny how things turn out sometimes once you put it all behind you. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. It’s the best way to give yourself closure too. Instead of hanging on to those emotions, you got them out on the page. Glad it took you a moment to remember what the original venting was even about. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’m not a social media fan. I know my writing would be more popular if I was, but it’s too intrusive. I post an essay here and there, but have held back having a personal page. There’s an expression I like…the truth will set you free, but first it will kick your ass…I guess that’s what happened when you read that unfortunate piece of news…however, now you know and you’re free of ever having to have those mixed feelings we tend to have for others.
    Venting is healthy. There would be fewer shootings and suicides if it was the general norm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. OK. Not bad. Sometimes it is better to cut than not being able to cure.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. It actually works! Who knew?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I’ve had to unfriend and block a couple of times. I’m all with Carl. Toxic people have to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Ah yes, I witnessed (or read) an argument between a 16 year old daughter and her mother unfold on Facebook. I wasn’t involved. The mother was the daughter of a dear friend and the stuff just came up on my computer. At the end of the day, through the hurling insults I found out that mom paid $6K for a boob job but wouldn’t contribute to a car for her daughter. When you are angry, the enter button on your gizmo should freeze up. Haven’t seen anything from either of them since.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. If it’s toxic I have to cut it out of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. I’ve seen that happen many times on Facebook. As great as social media is in letting us stay in contact over long distances, it has that oversharing flaw. Not sure why people feel the need to put dirty laundry out there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

