RSS Feed

IT WAS THE JELLY DONUT

IT WAS THE JELLY DONUT

Come to find out I’m really not Just A Bit Fit. To be so I’d have to walk more, exercise more, climb more stairs,  or eat less. I had that sleep pattern down pretty good!

I wasn’t quite sure of all the goals and how to customize to my needs until V gave me a little lesson – one I sadly failed. Oh, sure, I knew how to put my weight in and my wished-for  weight. Seems like I was 8.9 pounds over that wished-for weight. I know that doesn’t seem like much and honestly I probably need to tone up more than lose weight. When you hit that 6th decade your body does some weird things doesn’t it?

I also knew how to read the sleep chart and the step and stairs count. The calorie count is what I wanted to work on. When I realized I could log all the calories I ate every day, I thought it would be a breeze and was anxious to start logging. I started my new routine of logging in on Monday. Of course I was pretty busy all day running errands and packing for this trip to Tampa. I checked my Fitbit dashboard often and I was thrilled with the results at the end of the day. I went to sleep that night with calories to spare!

Tuesday morning came and we were off for an eight-hour drive to Tampa. Try doing that and count calories at the same time. We stopped at Good Things Donuts for a to-go breakfast. After all I deserved it. I had done so well yesterday. It had also been a while since we had donuts for breakfast.

I ate my one jelly filled donut and drank half a container of Borden’s chocolate milk. (the best chocolate milk you’ll ever taste)I saved the other half for H because I knew that chocolate milk had lots of calories. Wasn’t that nice of me? Then I opened my Fitbit app on my phone and proceeded to log in my eats for the morning. Oh wow! This can’t be right! An alert came up in red letting me know my calorie count and announcing I was OVER TARGET!

calorie count

            calorie count

This can’t be so! I didn’t eat much and why is my Calories Out allowance so low? Is that all I’m allowed to have each day?  I’ll starve… I may dry up and blow away… At least I’ll lose that 8.9 pounds.

I only had 189 calories left for the day and I don’t think Steak and Shake where H was planning to stop for lunch had anything on their menu close to that number.

steak and shake milkshakes are the best!

Steak and Shake milkshakes are the best!

And take a look at that picture up there. Just look at what they were tempting us with! I had to bite the bullet – or the hamburger as it was – a portabella mushroom Swiss hamburger – no fries. I had to eat and the day was already on the downhill slope. I passed on the milk shake, but bought the $10 gift card to receive a free shake on my next visit – just in case – you know.

So when V explained how the calorie goal worked I figured if I was really careful I might be able to save the day.  Fitbit calculates your weight and looks at your activity and then comes up with how many calories you are allowed. The more calories you burn during the day, the more you can eat – I think. My problem was I had 4 more hours to ride in the car and then check into a hotel and pass out from the long trip. When was I going to burn any more calories today?

I started researching on my Fitbit app what I had done calorie-wise the day before. You know – the good day – the one I succeeded with. I had gone to bed the night before with 152 calories to the good. Now if I could only get in some steps and roll over those 152 calories from yesterday to today I may be able to eat some dinner tonight.

V said it doesn’t work that way. 😦

It was that jelly donut that got me in trouble in the first place!

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

15 responses »

  1. LOL. I haven’t tried the FitBit yet. My phone tracks my exercise but there are so many times I put my phone down and walk around the house doing chores. It’s amazing how many calories are in the tastiest foods. I usually start the day with eggs, low carb toast and coffee. it’s filling and not a ton of calories. Can I just say how amazing you are to be so barely over your goal weight. Really that’s awesome! Whatever you’ve been doing is working well.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks Kourtney. If those 8.9 lbs would even out over my entire body I’d feel much better. Seems they don’t settle in the right places. I think H is getting tired of me reading labels to coincident whether or not I really want to eat that Little Debbie snake cake or not. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  2. Oh your Fitbit must be broke. Yes that’s it, it’s broke. In fact, I’m certain of it. No need to thank me. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Oh, more power to you, Elle! X

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Loving your Fitbit saga, Elle! Just as well there aren’t any doughnuts here…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I only get those if I leave early in the morning and go in that direction, Curtis. It’s out of the way for a daily trip and closes at 2 pm! Maybe that’s a good thing. I think I see another trip coming up. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. I need to take my Fitbit more seriously 🙂 That donut looks amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. And this is why I don’t buy a fitbit! Years ago at a company health fair I got a step counter. The goal was 10,000 steps. Although I had a desk job I was a walker and did a fair amount in the office. However, my counter said I only walked 2000 steps a day. My husband has some sort of wrist thingie but is obsessed with his heart rate when he exercises. Me, I say eat the jelly donut!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. the things we go thru with our fitbits. Lol. Love those donuts but will make you think twice now. Have fun in Tampa

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

