RSS Feed

National Pie Day – January 23

Of course I’ll eat pie for National Pie Day on the 23rd of January…I wouldn’t want to be called unpatriotic! As for as PI Day on March 14th – I may just eat some more pie. Thanks for this great info girls… @Elle

Fat-Bottom-Fifties Get Fierce

National Pie DayThere are actually two annual pie days in our calendar – how lucky are we!!! Pi Day, the celebration of the mathematical constant π, takes place on March 14 as 3, 1 and 4 are the first three digits of π. OK all you Math Lovers – mark this day on the calendar for some wacky Pi fun!!!

The other national pie day is celebrated tomorrow, January 23 and was created simply to celebrate the edible pie. As near as we can tell, this day became a ‘holiday’ in the mid-1970s when Charlie Papazian, from Boulder CO declared it so. The American Pie Company took up sponsorship of this national day in 1986.

For more pie history, check out these two sites for starters – Time’s history of Pies and the Pie Council. You may find yourself wandering all through the annuls of pie history if you are part-time foodies like we are.

View original post 390 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

12 responses »

  1. How did I miss this…I love pie…peach being my favorite, banana cream a close second. Apple, warmed with a slice of Swiss cheese melted over it, isn’t so bad either. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Oh darn, I missed Pie Day by two days. 😦 But I can always turn the clock back, and go for some 😀

    Mr.Quantum, on the other hand would be more interesting (or at least equally so) in Pi Day.

    What fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I was so sad to learn I missed National Pie day! I love a great pie although not often! One of my good friends, who is a chief, posted a picture of her pie she made in celebration! She can be found at “Basil and Beads”. Reading your post makes me feel like “the last one to know”!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. This post brings back memories of visiting my daugther when she was in college. We just happened to be there on pie day, and a pie shop just off campus gave out free slices of pie. We stood in line for a very long time in a very long line to get our slice of pie. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I knew about Pi day in March but till today did not know about PIE day. With this new found knowledge the only choice left me is to go make pie right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Elle
    I have an antipathy for any of these days. When if the cause is really worthwhile? They should be celebrated every day, or every week. The unfortunate thing about pies whether sweet or savoury, is the amount of calories they pack. I suppose my all-time fave, would be Quiche? Certainly if it’s one i’m making? Since I’m a vegetarian, my fillings run to onions, leeks and green peas, tomatoes,etc. With a healthy dollop of thyme. If I was to choose a sweet one? It would likely be apple or pumpkin? Long ago when younger I used to make the open top types. the English call, flans. To make one of those requires the use of gelatin … which is derived from the feet and bones of cattle. So, I’ll pass. Cheers Jamie
    https://www.meilleurduchef.com/cgi/mdc/l/en/recipe/flan-patissier.html

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

