RSS Feed

WHY WE DO THE THINGS WE DO

WHY WE DO THE THINGS WE DO

Every time you turn around there’s someone else writing a blog. It could be a writing blog, a craft blog, a sewing blog, or a blog to steer others in the right direction. Wouldn’t you say Facebook is a blog, though shorter in daily post length, but more of them? There seems as though a lot more venting is going on in the Facebook game. Blogging is more of an on-line diary.

So the new year – 2016 – has begun and you have decided to go with the flow and write a blog too. You’ve been-there done-that FB scene and now there’s another option out there. The reasoning behind your decision could be unknown.

What's your social media of choice?

            What’s your social media of choice?

  • Everyone’s doing it. Well, not everyone, but there are millions of blogs out there.
  • It’s the perfect way to vent about family, friends, and co-workers. They’ll never know unless you advertise your wares. Believe me when I say , “Some will find you regardless.” Be careful of what you share on social media.
  • It’s like a diary – a public diary.  One that will be shared with all mankind and if it’s NOT read, then shared, and passed around on social media your feelings are hurt.
  • As an author or artist you blog to promote and sell yourself or wares to the outside world. You’ve written a great book and started a sequel and have tons of other stories running rampant in your head. You could also promote the crafty side of yourself with the mentioning of your Etsy shop or other genuine gifts you may possess.

In my opinion everyone should blog even if its only once a month. Just get your thoughts down in black and white or pink and purple. It’s very stimulating once you get the hang of it. Actually you don’t even have to publish publicly if you don’t want too. But… like a treasured key to your lockbox holding your life’s valuables, trust your password and sign-in information to a person of your choice. – just in case.

The key to knowleselle

The key to knowleselle – shush! It’s a secret!

To tell you the truth I started blogging to promote my book, ‘Crossing The Line’. All the experts – of which I was not one – strongly suggested this was the way to go. So I did so by starting off blogging about social media. You can read my first post here. It’s hard to believe I’ve been blogging for three years!

I think I’ve grown a bit from that first post in 2013.  Yes, I do still post about the ups and downs of social media and how to publish and promote as a self-published writer. But only sprinkled here and there throughout the blog and they are mostly re-blogs of such from other blogs I follow. I’ve just about left it up to the experts and following their advice has proved  rewarding.

These days I post about my daily life. How hard it is to write when also working for money at another job. No time. No time. You’ve heard me whine this often if you follow me – and please do…

I post about my family – meet them here – and about H getting ready to retire in a few months. I post a lot about Andrew –  too much for his taste – my youngest. He was a new college student when I started this blog and in two semesters he will be graduating and off to grad school. (Keeping fingers crossed) Where has the time gone?  I also vent now and then.

So back to why I write this blog. Technology has changed this world and maybe for the better. Anyone can write a book, publish and market it these days. You  can sell your wares on the internet while in bed in your PJ’s. (I must get dressed sometime today – at least before H gets home) Your words will always be here in this little space, neat and tidy so the ones you leave behind someday can scroll through your thoughts and trials and tribulations as if they are reading your diary.

They’ll laugh at the small piece of technology there was offered in our day compared to what they have. Think about it. Look at what we didn’t have when we were kids. I didn’t even have a hand-held hair dryer until the 70’s!

The supermax hair dryer

The Supermax hair dryer – What an oldie!

No, my life is not so great that I will be read world-wide by zillions of people. But I bet it will be read by family and acquaintances when I’m gone from this earth. Wouldn’t you read your grandmothers blog if she had written one? I believe my mother would have been a great blogger if she had lived in this era. I guess the Alaska Book I’m working on is a bit of my mothers blogging.

Write what you love and love what you write. Share your thoughts with the world and keep them on file for the ones who come in behind you. That’s why I blog today – for the ones left behind.

Why do you blog?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

24 responses »

  1. Thanks for stopping by! Hope it doesn’t disappoint. I’ve been a bit behind in my blogging efforts lately. Have to get back on track! ~Elle

    Like

    Reply
  2. hi there blog owner!
    Excellent guidance. Thank you for sharing.
    I see fascinating posts right here.
    I’m surprised, I have to state. Hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s equally informative
    thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I just started blogging and I loved your post. It gives me a new out look on writing my own blog and what to write about. I found it very encouraging.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. An excellent post about blogging, Elle. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I wish had never told my sister I blogged. She gets notices of my posts in her e-mail so she doesn’t miss a one. There’s a whole area of my life I can’t complain about because she is such a nice person.
    I started blogging so I could talk about myself without driving her crazy. I figured there must be other women in their sixties struggling on their own. Found friends of all ages and lifestyles!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. The picture of the dryer took me down memory lane. I think that I had a Supermax dryer just like the one in the photo when I was I teen. I’ve also often thought that my mother would have enjoyed blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. LOL, Love that title card, it’s so true! l still don’t have a hand-held hair dryer, though. Of course, my wife suggested—with my thinning hair—I don’t need one. But, she has one! Oh well, that’s not important. What’s important here, is that I love writing, particularly humor. At least, I hope what I write passes for humor. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. When I started blogging, it was just to have my own little space on the internet to express myself. I didn’t have any grand expectations of blogging full time or gaining a large following. I love having this space I can come to and write about what I want, and the connections you make with other bloggers or blogs, that has been most enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Making the connection is the best part. Some say they blog for themselves but you know everyone wants to connect. And it will be nice if the ones I leave behind read good stuff about me! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  9. My blogging intent was to write business articles to help me get gigs. That quickly went out the window. Business writing — boring. Humor writing and wailing about nonsense — super fun. I hope that it keeps my mind active and alert. I love having readers but in the end I blog for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. I love writing, sharing my perspective, and making connections 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

