RSS Feed

HOW TO SCORE 539 STEPS ON YOUR FITBIT BEFORE YOU WAKE UP FOR THE DAY

HOW TO SCORE 539 STEPS ON YOUR FITBIT BEFORE YOU WAKE UP FOR THE DAY

You notice how I said “before you wake up for the day” as opposed to “before you get up in the morning?” There’s a reason for that. When you get up in the morning you’re up. When you wake up for the day, there’s no more going back to that warm cozy bed. Does that make any sense to you? This explains it all. 

The secret to getting those steps on your FitBit toward the plus side of your daily goal count is to spend the night in a hotel with your husband, wife, partner, or significant other. Children and teenagers can factor into this equation also,  if you understand where I’m going with this. 

I wasn’t awake for the day even though I had been promised I could sleep in while H went to the last clinc at SEUS this morning. 

Up I jumped to find H the nail clippers he requested while shaving. Back to bed. 

Up again to find the aloe lotion he could not find sitting right in front or his nose. Back to bed. 

Up once more to dig the room key and breakfast pass out of my purse so H could go down for breakfast. Back to bed. 

My eyes were just about to close when there was a tapping at my door. Up again to open the door for H because his hands were full with breakfast and juice for me to have breakfast in bed. So there was no choice. Back to bed. 

 

believe me when I say it wasn't quite that elaborate

believe me when I say it wasn’t quite that elaborate

 

So along with those 539 steps I also got breakfast in bed. Not a wink of sleep – but I guess the trade-off was worth it. 

The rest of the day I’ll add steps towards my goal as I traipse back and forth from one honor band rehearsal to the next and to more clinics as H listens and I read. 

What I’d really like to do is sit in Crosby Theatre and watch the Cardinal Honor band rehearse where Andrew is working with the percussion and read my book. 

Now I’m up for the day. Men! 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

7 responses »

  1. Brilliant analysis of life in the morning, and I’d consider the same for the night, when I’m just about to settled in for sleep, I am up and down several times because I remembered I forgot to put the heat down, and then I wondered if I turned off the gas stove, and then middle of the night there’s always several bathroom runs, and I’m keeping my eyes closed so I don’t wake up. Plus, if I’ve been asleep, I’m sure all that up and down has to do that exercise bp raising thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. You never give yourself enough credit. You have a family…a husband who truly depends on you along with a young son…a cub who still needs you.

    Then we have your talents that are numerous. Writing only being one. You remind me of the plate spinner on the Ed Sullivan show since you have quite a few swirling in the air.

    Great post. We want more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I guess that’s what they call a running start to the day! It sure beats ENDING a day wit 539 steps (don’t ask me how I know!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

