RSS Feed

NO MATTER HOW HARD YOU TRY, THAT SALE GETS YOU EVERY TIME…

NO MATTER HOW HARD YOU TRY, THAT SALE GETS YOU EVERY TIME…

I’ve come to realize H is a towel fanatic. He is usually drawn to bright vibrant colors and designs.  More often than not, every time we pass a towel display I hear him utter the words, “We should buy a few of these.” Especially if they are on sale. He does love a good sale. This comes from a man who only had one towel when I met him.  A nice one – but just one. He’s now making up for lost time.

“They don’t match our bathroom,” is my most common response to his request, along with, “We don’t need any more towels,” as I lead him in another direction and change the subject in one fell swoop. I’ve learned to steer clear of the linen department any time we are out shopping together. We have towels – plenty of them. He thinks not.

I like towels that are well used, but not to the point of being thin. These seem to soak up the moisture quite nicely. H leans towards the thick, plushy, luxuriant sort of towel. These seem to do nothing but take up too much space in my too small linen closet. These bright gems are the ones he gravitates towards as his eyes are on the look-out for a sale.

Don’t think I don’t take note when he reaches for a towel at home. It is usually the well-worn ones he ends up grabbing and never comes out complaining his towel wasn’t plushy enough. Is he is saving those nice ones for company which we don’t have much of?

Yesterday he asked me where those new towels were we just bought. Yes, I backed down last week and let him buy a few.  I, too, had been taken in by the great sale. One cent each at Penneys. He surprised me when he insisted we get some because although they were nice and thick, they were brown in color. It was a pretty golden brown, not dark and drab, but not a color he usually drooled over.

There was a limit of one, but H managed to purchase four. Don’t ask. I mentioned when I agreed to the purchase they would be good for Andrew when he goes to grad school. I’m fearful when he moves out of the house he shares with three other guys, they will benefit from his lack of packing up. I can picture him taking only his clothes, bed, chest, and nightstand. And that’s a stretch of my imagination!

Men do not understand brown towels do not coördinate with a blue/black bathroom. They don’t care if they clash with the rest of the décor or not. Towels are for drying off with and any color works fine as long as we have a linen closet full of soft plush ones.

So now I have hidden in my house – I won’t say where – four  new golden brown towels for Andrew. I sure hope his bathroom will be a color that can handle brown.

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. No wonder my wife has stopped taking to me to Bed Bath & Beyond! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I need new towels. But no primary colors for me. I’ll take the brown 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. My husband believes that everything we buy should be “dirt color” since eventually everything gets dirty. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I can’t imagine my husband buying a towel.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. How interesting he likes towels. They’re a creature comfort. There’s nothing like wrapping yourself up in one after a bath or shower womb like. I love that you’re the towel censure…funny.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I tend to avoid using thick plush towels. While the thought of using the really large and thick towels is nice my practical mind tells me they take up too much room in the wash.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. I love towels too. The big size, soft and fluffy but I’ve returned to cream to light tan shades. They don’t fade or get discolored as much and are so much easier to use in any bathroom. I bet your son won’t care what color the towels are. Free towels are always good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

