RSS Feed

HOW AUDIO BOOKS CHANGED MY LIFE

HOW AUDIO BOOKS CHANGED MY LIFE

If you are a reader you will know where this is coming from. Readers have that sudden urge to read, read, read. Read anything, anywhere. The back of the cereal box when you are enjoying your Cheerios, the label left on the new laundry hamper, tags on new clothing, instructions on how to add batteries to your remote, and yes, even the junk mail is not left unattended.

But, when we pick up that new best seller, sit comfortably on the sofa and begin to read, we are sometimes ridden with guilt. Isn’t there something I should be doing? Working at my paying job, laundry, planner dinner, polishing the silver? Polishing the silver is a stretch, but you get my drift.

I work from home for my paying job and write as often as I can squeeze it in, though I believe everything I’ve read – when I had the time – says I should write first and then work if I want to be considered a serious writer. I’ll get that switched around after Andrew has finished with his college career.

Don’t believe everything you hear about working from home. Regardless of all the hoop-la, no, I don’t have oodles of time to loll around on the sofa eating bon-bons and reading or scrolling through Facebook. Then there’s the phone ringing constantly and the text messages coming in because most believe your time is your own. It’s not. You pay for it late in the night when you are catching up on the time you missed.

Recently I downloaded the Audible App on my iPhone after seeing it advertised on Facebook when I should have been working. What the heck? It was only $14.95 a month and when I signed up I got one free book. I can always cancel after I get my two books.

audible

But I didn’t cancel. I kept Audible and now I am guilt-free when I read… or rather listen. I can read when I’m working because I sit at my machine and sew. My running in the mornings has taken on a new curve and lengthened in time and miles spent as I listen to Audible.

I read while I’m driving. You’d be surprised how big a dent you can put in a book while doing errands around town. With the sound of the gulf in the background I read on the pier while H fishes. I also read while H drives us on longer trips, nodding my head yes or no as he talks to me and uttering a “Really?” or “Is that so?” as to not alert him that I am really not paying attention.

I don’t listen to audible in bed where most of my night-time reading occurs. I had to draw the line somewhere.

reading in bed

                                 reading in bed

I’ve taken advantage of Audible specials such as two books for one credit and numerous $5.00 specials. In the last week I’ve read three books. I never had time to do that when I was reading for real. Now I’ve come to the end of my list and my Audible doesn’t kick in until the twenty-second of the month. Sigh.

So I found a new audiobook sight where the rates are relatively inexpensive. It’s called AudiobooksNow and yes, there’s an app for that. AudiobooksNow has two plans.

audiobooksnow

            audiobooksnow

  1. Monthly Club Plan $5/month (30 Day Free Trial)  Club Pricing is a great way to save money on all your audiobook purchases. It’s like getting our entire selection of audiobooks on sale every day. With our monthly Club Plan you’ll get the first audiobook you purchase each month at 50% Off, then you will receive the normal Club Price (up to 40% off). And, if you do not use your 50% discount, it automatically rolls over to the next month. You can cancel your monthly Club Plan at any time.
  2. 50% Off 12 Club Plan $36 (Renewable) The first 12 audiobooks you purchase through this plan will be 50% Off, then you will receive the normal Club Price (between 25-40% off). You can purchase all 12 audiobooks whenever you’d like and renew the plan as often as you’d like. The 50% Off 12 audiobooks plan can be renewed when you run out of your 50% discounts.
What I love best about audiobooks is the dialog and accents you get. It’s as though you are watching a movie with no picture and it’s easier to carry around than your kindle. I never leave my book at home because its attached to an app on my phone and you know that never gets left behind!
Where’s your favorite place to listen?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

15 responses »

  1. I listen in bed. Usually one of the many BBc radio dramas Ive recorded. I had audible but couldnt figure a way of downloading it away from their application.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I love listening in my car. Like you, Elle, I like hearing the dialogue and the accents as well. The apps you mentioned sound great.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Audible is great! Guess I am spoiled with it. Just realized I have issues with audibooksnow. Slow to load, but may be my wifi. Also, make sure when you leave the house, planning on listening, you have your whole book downloaded if possible. This app works on tracks and if you don’t have wifi to download you are out of luck. I had to drive all the way home from Niceville – 30 minutes! – with no content downloaded. Uggh!

      Like

      Reply
  3. I’ve never tried listening to a book instead of reading. Guessing it’s a different sensory experience because I love the way words look on a page…and I make up all the accents and dialects inside my head. But you’re right, audio lets you get through a lot more books! I think I should give it a try

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • You can’t go wrong Jill. I love it. I’m always busy doing other things while I listen. I think if I wasn’t, as in reading in bed, I may fall asleep. Let me know how you liked it! ~Elle

      Like

      Reply
  4. Love my audio books! It’s gotten to the point where I keep two backups in the glove compartment in case I finish the current one (I always like to have a choice!) And more than once I have found myself sitting in the garage to just finish off the book or hear the rest of a reveal.

    As an alternative to the digital options, Hastings carries discounted audio books, used audio books (a steeper ‘discount,’ but not cheap) and, at our local one, often has a smaller selection on “clearance” that are the best deal.

    Read on!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Nice to hear from you Shel, and on my favorite most recent subject! Don’t you just love the accents in the storytellers voice? I’ve been stuck on stories from concentration camps – I know it’s a sad story – but I can almost feel the sadness in the voices! Yes, I’ve sat in the garage many times and also walked an extra mile just to hear the ending! Good for my exercise regime anyway. I’m starting to hoard audiobooks like I once did fabric…

      Like

      Reply
      • I have found that the reader can make or break a story. For instance, John Grishom should NOT read his books – BAD. What incredible skills some of the reader/actors have – the way they can navigate different accents and tones seemlessly. I generally don’t read biographies, but I love listening to them by the author. I so enjoyed driving around with Barbara Bush that I as I got close to the end, I started listening to less at a time to drag it out. I felt like I was saying a permanent good-bye to a friend when done.The audio book has really expanded what genres I “read” – like biographies, I enjoy listening to things as I drive I would not actually read. Fun!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • You know that’s true…I’ve listened to lots I probably would never pick up otherwise but when I listened to a sample I was hooked! I’ll have to try some biographies. I love reading them! Funny about you and Barbara Bush! 😉

          Like

          Reply
  5. You know what a reader I am, so this sounds good. I too fall asleep in bed, doing most of my reading at various spots during the day like on the train and waiting in line someplace, so this sounds nifty. Thanks for all the detail. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Great idea! My eyes get fatigued and I often have to stop reading because of it. Sometimes I fall asleep when I pick up a book (I swear they put Ambien in it!). This sounds like a great solution.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • That’s been happening to me recently too! It’s not that they are t interesting. My eyes just start closing and then I’m asleep. Must be old age! Lol! Really love the audiobooks. Gotta go run now…and read! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

