RSS Feed

BYE BYE BIRDIE

BYE BYE BIRDIE

While the rest of our neighbors trudge down the driveway in all kinds of weather to pick up their mail, we lucked out and only have to step out the front door and pluck it from the box hanging on the wall. It seems since this residence has been in the same family since the beginning of its birth in 1957 we’ve been grandfathered in.

 

Delivering on foot

Delivering on foot

When my dad was a mailman they had  to walk their mail routes and going door-to-door with a heavy bag on their shoulder was the norm. You knew them by name and they knew yours. Of course all they had to do was glance at the mail in hand to rattle off your name as they greeted you and sometimes passed the time of day.

Delivering the mail

Delivering the mail

Now they zip around in their little mail trucks, hurriedly pulling close to the box on the street to thrust the mail in and don’t even have to step out in the weather – until they get to my house. I’m sorry. No, really I’m not. I like getting my mail up close! I still have to go to the end of the drive to get my newspaper if that makes you feel any better. Didn’t they used to aim for the porch? I’ll have to look into that.

Delivering mail was a bit more personal back in the day. Now, I hardly ever see the same deliverer twice in one week and we won’t talk about how many times a month I find the wrong mail in my box with clearly the wrong address on it or how many times someone from down the street or even a few streets over bring me a piece of my mail that was left in their box by mistake.

 

' Apparently we'll have to pay, if we want our mail delivered to the wrong address before 9 A.M.'

“Apparently we’ll have to pay, if we want our mail delivered to the wrong address before 9 A.M.”

Even with these downfalls we have caring mail people. About a month ago we had a Carolina Wren take up residence in our mailbox. Trusting little soul she is. We step out that door whenever we leave the house. She and her mate spent days building a nest and soon we had five little speckled eggs! As soon as we realized we were going to have new neighbors I put a note on the mailbox warning the mailman.

 Bird nest in mailbox. Please place mail below. 

Feeding the babies!

Feeding the babies!

And they all do just that! We now have five baby birds with doting parents feeding them constantly. It won’t be long and they will be flying off on their own. I hope they’ll come back next year. I’ll be sure to leave the door lid open!

img_2885
Bye Bye Birdies! 

                        Brought to you by the letter B from A to Z Blogging Challenge. 

B

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

17 responses »

  1. Those days when we not only knew the mailman but our neighbors too. Not so any more. Now I live in Ecuador and there is no mail delivery. Thanks for sharing your post. Enjoy the A to Z.
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Oh, Elle, what a marvelous post! How adorable to have the life and times of the Wrens so up close and personal! I’m really glad the mail people pay attention.

    I remember quite well, when I was growing up, the mailbox hanging on the shingles next to our front door. And when I got married, and moved to Dallas, we also had the box on our porch. I liked that quite well. 🙂

    Of course, you know when I saw your title, I thought of that great musical from the days of my youth. Thanks for the memory!

    And it’s great to see you here in the A to Z challenge as well. This is my first year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. What a fun post! The bird in the mailbox is adorable. This post reminded me how an apartment that we had years ago had a slot in the door that the mailman dropped the mail through.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I love this post! 🙂 On an aside, it’s so interesting how you mentioned the evolution in the ways we receive things now. All the traditional ways of receiving the mail, milk, vegetables in some cases evoke so much nostalgia in me! Dropping by from https://sujataravi6.wordpress.com/ for the A-Z Challenge! Look forward to reading the rest fo your posts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. When I was growing up we had a mail slot in the front door. Our dog went nuts every time mail was delivered and I can’t imagine the mail carrier felt great sticking his hand in the slot! He kind of opened the slot and flung the mail in there. We also had milk deliveries and something that I think was local to the northern VA area, Charles Chips. Yes, we had a big tin of potato chips they would come by and refill. My mom used to keep it on top of the fridge, well out of our reach. I guess with Amazon and grocery delivery we’re almost coming full circle with home delivery!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Nice …!! As an aside. It is said that birds are evolved from dinosaurs? That those dinosaurs, it is now believed. Were covered in feathers? If that is so? Then logically, they did not roar but cheep? Can you imagine the dawn chorus, then? Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Cool! You and Tom Bodett should be partners. Just leave the porch light on.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

