RSS Feed

THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

It’s something that has been on our minds for a quite a while, but it suddenly hit me today. In fifty-eight days H will be officially retired. ♫No more homework, ♫No more books ♫No more students dirty looks – I altered that a wee bit…

Deduct the weekends and Memorial day and H has only thirty-nine days of classes left until May 31st, his official termination date. I don’t like that term – termination date. It sounds as though they are putting him out to pasture or getting rid of him. As it turns out he chose to leave on this date five years ago when he signed up for DROP.

This last year wasn’t a bed of roses for either one of us. With moving to a new school and starting from scratch with a different group of kids, parents, and faculty, it wasn’t an easy feat. I mean, really! Where does he go from here?

All he can do is leave the program in better shape than it was when he started. And I believe that has happened. The marching band pulled superiors in all the contests and festivals they attended, superiors in solo/ensemble, and superior in the concert festival a few weeks ago. This last accomplishment has led him to attempt the state band festival at the end of the month. It’s the first time this band has ever gone to state.

They are working hard, small though they are, but I’m here to tell you, pulling off a superior at state is no easy task. He’s done it once in the last twelve years. Maybe this will be the icing on the cake.

Now back to that countdown…I’ve had a taste of retirement this past week since it was spring break for Walton County. It was also, the beginning of turkey season and H had the last of his eye surgeries scheduled. If he wasn’t crawling out of bed by 4:30 every morning, we were up about the same time to head to Panama City to the Eye Center. We had a pretty hectic week.

I know retirement won’t all be crammed into one week as this was and I’m sure I would be a bit more excited if it were me retiring instead of him. I work from home and he doesn’t always respect my space while I’m working. “I’ll just have bacon and eggs this morning. Maybe some waffles or French toast today? Are you at a stopping point so we can go have some lunch? Run to Home Depot with me. Come look at this turtle out here. Let’s go out to the pier to fish a little.” Etc., etc., etc.

Well you get my point, don’t you? He must think little elves sneak in at night and do all that I do around here, plus work! Won’t he be surprised when those elves go on strike?

I’ve tried to stay busy this week to prepare him for what’s to come. He may have to work around my schedule now. He could fix my breakfast and go to lunch when I’m ready to. “The toilet brush is in the bathroom cabinet dear and the washing powder is next to the washing machine.”

Who am I kidding? Like that’s ever going to happen!

I have a list started of Honey-Do’s and Honey-Don’t’s. Watch for it on the A to Z Blogging Challenge H day, coming soon.

Really, I’m excited for him and we do have some fun things planned. It’s going to take a bit of getting used to for both of us though.

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

13 responses »

  1. All the best for both of you, Elle. I’m sure it’ll be wonderful – make the most of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I know it must be bitter sweet for both of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Despite being nowhere near retirement, I can totally relate to this post! When my hubs is home, I can’t get a single thing done…I constantly wish that the Cleaning Fairies that he thinks exist would give me a real visit!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Hard for me to relate, because my health forced me out of working at the height of my career. Or maybe I just imagined it as the height and romanticized it because I had to give it up. Days are much, much longer now…but then again, I have time to blog too, which I didn’t when I was working.

    As to getting your work done, how about having office hours? Like, from 8-12 and 1-5 just pretend I’m off at work, and call me if you really need something. Maybe that will do the trick…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I retired as a single person … so it just allowed me to do my own thing. A little more time for laundry, ironing, etc. While I also started my own small business, I definitely had more time for the funner things in life …. good luck! I expect we’ll be reading more, later on? Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I can’t wait till Greg retires. I’m just hoping we’re financially ready. Everybody says we are based on retirement planners and bankers…but we both have a tendency to binge spend on high ticket items at the same time. I thin when he actually does retire, I’ll take all the credit cards and shred them…maybe I should do that now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

