RSS Feed

DOG-GONE-IT!

DOG-GONE-IT!

I’m not a dog person. That doesn’t mean I don’t like dogs. They are probably better off not left in my care though. I’d forget to feed, walk, nurture, and entertain them. Then I’d be picked up for pet neglect. And where would H be then? Visiting me in The Big House. What a way to spend his retirement years! Yep, they should stay where they are with other people.

We had dogs when we were growing up. And my kids – except for Andrew – had dogs while they were growing up. Maybe that is why he thinks we need a dog now. Not for us really, but for him. Not that he comes home too often.  We will be the pet sitters, I fear, until he is done with his college career. One time, recently, I almost got a dog, thanks to Andrew. Read about that escapade here.

When the girls were in elementary school we had a dog named Tasha. She came to us with the name. She was already used to it so we left it at that. If I did have a dog to name I would not choose ‘Tasha’.  She was a mixed breed and a big puppy, being part German Shepard. The other part may have been Mexican Jumping Bean.  She loved to jump. On people. Mainly on kids. “She’s only playing with you.”  You tell that to three elementary age girls and that boat might not float.

In the mornings when they saw the school bus coming down the driveway and stop (we lived in the country) they would make a beeline for those open doors, long hair flying out behind them, trying to outrun Tasha before she attacked. Tasha always managed to snag one of them, pulling out strands of hair, and usually resulting in knocking her silly. With her tail wagging in the afternoons as the bus dropped them off, it was the same tune all over again. She was so happy to see them.

I finally came up with an ingenious idea. The girls would stand at the front door waiting for the bus in the mornings and as soon as the bus doors opened, I would head out the side door with an enticing – if you can call dog food enticing – bowl of breakfast for Tasha, calling for her to come eat. When she had to choose between jumping and eating, she chose eating. In the afternoons as I spotted the bus, Tasha ate again. She was a well fed dog.

I think we gave her to a neighbor before she actually grew out of that puppy stage. It was her or the girls and I chose the girls.

    A to Z Blogging Challenge 2016 – The Letter D

~Elle

 

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

9 responses »

  1. I love dogs, but after our last dog we haven’t got another, so I get my doggy fix by volunteering to work with working dogs who help blind people – not quite the same but it will do!

    Mars xx
    @TrollbeadBlog from
    Curling Stones for Lego People

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’ve had pets all my life, dogs cats, etc. All the rest too. Yet no more. Their demise, is coming to be too painful. You care for them nurture and return the unconditional love they offer. Then you outlive them and they’re gone. Leaving a void. Now, I do not have to look for a carer while away. No more shedding furs. No more vet bills. Oh, there will be some. Be very sure of that.

    Now I’m happily an ex-pet person and quite okay, with my memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Your nurturing days are over it seems. Pets take a lot of your time I’ve found. Especially in this day and age. It’s no more outside dogs and outside cats. They live like kings under the same roof with you. I do have two outside inherited cats though…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. I grew up with a dog, but had a kitten put upon me in college (it was I take her or she would be killed) and it turns out I am a serious cat person. We have four now and I swear that’s the absolute limit. My thing is, if you have taken care of kids, a dog is a piece of cake, right? I say that because I didn’t have kids. They seem like a lot of work and all.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. First off…I love the term…the big house. Very funny. And I’ll just bet you’re a better critter caretaker than you’ll admit. You nurture like nature…your husband, kids, grand kids. Though your plate is more than full, I’m bettin there’s a monkey dish to be had for a wayward poodle who needs a little love. Just a hunch. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

