RSS Feed

EVIDENTLY, ALL RULES DO NOT APPLY…

EVIDENTLY, ALL RULES DO NOT APPLY…

Where are the rules written? There is such a difference at this school H is teaching at this year than any other he has taught at. I know this to be true when he announced at our weekly pizza dinner last night he didn’t want to do this anymore.

What makes him say this? A lot goes on that shouldn’t go on and if I had a child in this high school my voice would be loud and clear and be heard – someway, somehow. As I stated in my title, EVIDENTLY, ALL RULES DO NOT APPLY.

As students change classes they are walking hand-in-hand or with their arms draped around each other – boy/girl, boy/boy, girl/girl – as though it’s their right. And it is as far as the administration sees it. The teachers and administration staff are just about clueless, turning their heads in the other direction. H wasn’t taught those rules – ever.

You turn a corner and two of any given sex are caught in a lip-lock or some other sort of questionable pose. As far as he knows the students have kept it to a max number of two, but who knows what may be lurking behind door number three.

What happened to modesty and a sense of maturity? For being mature as these young adults should be in high school, it doesn’t mean do-what-you-want-any-time in front of others.

Bathrooms have been labeled Women or Men, but if you believe you should have use of one or the other you have the right to march on in. I, for one, would feel very uncomfortable if a guy walked into the women’s restroom while I was in there doing my business – stalls or no stalls. I wonder what the guys would think in the same predicament. And they don’t have many stalls!

Cell phone use is in rampant use in the hallways and classrooms. They don’t like it too much when he confiscates one in the middle of class, locking it in the office until the bell rings. You know as well as I do when phone is in hand, your attention lies mostly with the next text, game turn, Facebook, or you-tube video.  That would take priority over learning the next note. And yes, students have access to Wi-Fi in the building. I know because my cell phone has excellent service in the band room.

He’s stopped reprimanding, pulling them apart in the hallways and alcoves, and snatching their cell phones as he walks from point A to point B during the course of the day. During the day he uses the stage bathroom next to the band room that he keeps locked. But when they step foot in his band room or climb aboard the band bus they know they better tow the line.

Does this make him seem like a grumpy old man, unwilling to change with the times? I really don’t care if it does and doubt he does either. Evidently, he doesn’t want to do this anymore.

A to Z Blogging Challenge 2016 – The Letter E

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

19 responses »

  1. So glad I am not a teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. There’s no modesty or discretion in anything anymore. No surprises, nothing held back. Everything is in your face and, ‘it’s my right so I’m going to do it.’ Makes me cringe to think what the world will be like in 20 or 30 years.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. I think much of it starts at home. And the fact that the administration turns their heads just puts the icing on the cake for the kids so to speak. My oldest is only 5 and I find it very difficult to teach her modesty in this not so modest world. I can’t imagine when she starts highschool. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • Yes, it does start at home and I hate to see what the next generation of parents bring if the brakes aren’t put on soon Jessie! I know you definitely don’t want to be a homeschooling mom, but can see you doing it if you had too. I think administration is scared to stir the pot by disciplining and so they look the other way.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Hi,
    I did not enjoy teaching high school. I teach middle school, and I am much happier.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. That all has to do with the poor leadership!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Homeschool or not? That is all a bit beyond my experience. Over 50 years ago when in the equivalent of high school. We, that is my friends and I, did not play soccer or fives or other playground games. We hung out with the girls. The girls who would hang out with the boys, too. It was fairly innocent, for it was before the “pill” and we were too naive. To do any of that. There was the odd sneaked kiss but in the cycle sheds, not for me. One wonders when they, the current kids in your hubby’s school, are about twenty years older what type of parents will they be?

    The phone thing in society, is what I find beyond crazy.

    I know you, Elle, use it a lot. It’s the type that seems to have their phone glued to their ears. Eyes glazed and staring into space. That whistling noise when a message or notification arrives, is so irritating. It is heard from one table to all the others in the eatery. Is this what people wanted when only landlines were in use? To sit in public places, chatting in a loud voice, to some unseen entity? Colour me bemused …. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  7. I probably shouldn’t admit I smooched my boyfriend in the halls in high school (35 years ago) but teachers definitely broke us up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. This is one reason why I am homeschooling my youngest through High School. It has changed SO much in just the last 10 years. It boggles my mind that these things are considered ok now… Crazy!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  9. This free-for-all that they refer to as “high school” is getting worse and worse by the day. Seeing the antics that are being condoned at these schools has absolutely solidified my resolve to homeschool through graduation. I wish your husband the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Unlike my mother when we homesteaded in Alaska, I’d never be able to homeschool. So thankful my children are grown.
      It’s seems the parents of these students want a day as to how their children are schooled only as in don’t say anything negative to my child. Sad!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

