RSS Feed

FEED THE BIRDS 

FEED THE BIRDS 

Feeding the birds is a favorite chore of H’s as he goes about filling the feeders daily. I half expect him to break out in song one day! I do expect the majority of that seed gets eaten by the squirrels though. I don’t believe those birds can go through almost fifty pounds of bird seed a month. If so they must be inviting everyone and their brother to have dinner at our place.


The squirrels jump from feeder to feeder teetering on a branch or  pole scarfing down pounds of seed every day. They are surely refugees from the Barnum and Bailey circus giving us a show to remember with their antics being very entertaining.

img_2973

While the birds and squirrels are happily feasting on the seed, the turtles, possums, raccoon’s, two stray cats, and even a few of the birds are challenging the two inherited cats for their turn at the cat food bowls.

img_2975

We go through about as much cat food as we do bird seed every month. It isn’t strange to open the back door at night to have a raccoon or possum staring you down. The turtles show up every morning as soon as spring is in the air, especially if it’s raining. They do enjoy a good shower. If it were only our cats who took advantage of that cat food they would be fat sassy cats!

img_2977

I’m sure the word has gotten out we have the best buffet in the neighborhood  – high and low!

~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

13 responses »

  1. Great post and so lovely to see all the creatures! In our last house we used to feed the birds, we had 100’s and they were so loud at the Dawn Chorus, now we’re back in the city and there are way too many cats around to feed them safely. We have squirrels come down from the neighbouring trees quite often.

    Mars xx
    @TrollbeadBlog from
    Curling Stones for Lego People

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. We have lots of critters in our yard and we feed them all, although our cats stay indoors. We actually have a special bridge set up from our house to a tree so that the squirrels can dine without foxes dining on them! The raccoons are cute, especially the babies. They eat their fill too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I can relate. I buy birdseed 200 lbs. at a time. My cats are indoor only except for Jake who didn’t stay out overnight. Last summer he spent one night out. I was upset (he was old and a diabetic without his last insulin shot) and spent the night looking for him every hour. I had put dry cat food in the screened porch which had a cat door to get in. Around 2 in the morning I switched the light on to find a raccoon IN THE PORCH having dinner. We started locking the cat door overnight but I would find muddy raccoon paw prints around the door as he continued to try to get in. Love the picture of the turtles. We don’t have wild ones locally…at least not in my yard.

    Like

    Reply
    • My neighbor across the street has a doggy door and raccoons come in and eat often. She can tell because they always wash their food and leave the bowl of water dirty. At least they have good hygiene! It doesn’t bother her one bit and they keep coming. She does trap them now and then, and the possums, then lets them go in the woods near where she works. They have lots of family around here and I believe they always find their way back home!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • I keep the raccoons out of the porch but they raid the birdfeeders regularly. As the kids say “whatever.” They gotta eat too. I don’t bother trapping. I live next to a preservation area. Others will just move into my yummy yard.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. I had to smile at your blog post, it took me back to being little and singing songs from Mary Poppins with my siblings. Living in the country we have had our share of creatures on the porch. Have nearly opened the door more than once late at night to let the cat in only to realize it was not the cat.

    Like

    Reply
    • I see more wildlife here in the city limits than I ever did in the country. One time in the country though, there was this huge swamp rat that came up on the carport to eat from the bag of dog food left out. It was as big as a cat! Honest!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Love, love, love the pictures. My mother and grandfather were big birdies. I must get it from them. My grandfather used to always say, they have to eat too.

    H has has great qualities as well as Andrew animal wise. Big hearts. You should have included the pet cemetery photo with the angel. Love that one too.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

