RSS Feed

HOT DIGGITY DOG!

HOT DIGGITY DOG!

It’s not often we eat them, but sometimes there’s nothing like a good hot dog. H likes his with all the fixin’s, add chili if possible. I like mine with Sauerkraut and mustard. We have found that at the concession area in Sam’s Club we can both eat for under $5.00 with a drink. Now that’s a cheap date!

Sam’s uses Nathan Hot Dogs and when I googled it the top contender goes to the web site for Hebrew National All Beef Franks. They look good but I’m not sure if that’s the same thing. After further search I found Nathans Franks listed on the Sam’s website.

Nathans hot dogs

Nathans hot dogs – add your own condiments!

When my kids were young I would feed them those red-colored hot dogs. Bryan was the name and the package said Bryan Wieners – made with turkey and pork and artificial coloring. You know the ones. They probably don’t have any nutritional value and not any beef.  They tasted like a piece of bologna rolled up. But, they liked them, they were cheap, and to this day I have one that won’t eat anything else.

Bryan Wieners

                                Bryan Wieners

Searching for hot dogs this morning I came across this article on Hot Dog History. In 1893 they were standard fare at baseball parks and were probably better than the ones they serve today. The hot dog bun was not even invented until 1904. I have to have a bun for my hot dog. They don’t taste the same on a slice of bread.

Excerpt from Hot Dog History:

How term “hot dog” came about.

“Another story that riles serious hot dog historians is how term “hot dog” came about. Some say the word was coined in 1901 at the New York Polo Grounds on a cold April day. Vendors were hawking hot dogs from portable hot water tanks shouting “They’re red hot! Get your dachshund sausages while they’re red hot!” A New York Journal sports cartoonist, Tad Dorgan, observed the scene and hastily drew a cartoon of barking dachshund sausages nestled warmly in rolls. Not sure how to spell “dachshund” he simply wrote “hot dog!” The cartoon is said to have been a sensation, thus coining the term “hot dog.” However, historians have been unable to find this cartoon, despite Dorgan’s enormous body of work and his popularity.”

All this talk about hot dogs has made me hungry. I wonder if H would like to make a trip to Sam’s Club tonight. hmmm? Maybe I’ll just throw some on the grill!

How do you like your hot dog and what’s your favorite brand?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

8 responses »

  1. I’ve been vegetarian a long time but every once in a while I crave a hot dog and get a pack of soy dogs. They don’t freeze well so I’m committed to ‘hot dogs’ and wieners and beans for a few days.
    Then its a long time before I feel like one again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. From the time I was about 4 until maybe 12 ALL I ATE was hot dogs. Seriously. I had a hot dog instead of roast beef, or spaghetti, or chicken, or especially hamburgers. When we had fondue (hey, it was the 70s!) I put cut up hot dogs on my little fork. I liked plain hot dogs, but as I got a bit older I learned to like European hotdogs (the long thin ones with casing that cracked when you bit in).

    I still like hot dogs, especially Nathans or Hebrew National. Steamed, with a really fluffy white bun, and yellow mustard. Nothing else 🙂 Mmmm … now I want to go to Costco and have a hot dog.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I don’t eat them often because they are so salty but every once in a while I get this hankering……and I’ll eat it most any way. With chili or without. With ketchup or with mustard. If the place has good sauerkraut, why not. There is nothing you can put on that will hide the strong flavor.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Alas, it’s only soy dogs for this girl since going vegetarian 20 years ago. When I did eat meat I loved the really cheap, awful Oscar Mayer type dogs even though my mom kept nothing but Hebrew National in the house. Maybe that was the allure. When I went to my friends houses they had things we never had, like Kool-Aid and Steak-umms. I loved it all!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

