RSS Feed

JUST JUNK

JUST JUNK

“One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.”

So what do you do with all that junk? I ask myself that question often as H has inherited the save-everything gene from his parents. Now granted, some of that junk is pretty good stuff, but some of it needs to go and go now!

GOOD STUFF

  • Family photographs and birth, death, and marriage certificates from both sides of his family dating back to the late 1800’s
  • The original plans and mortgage papers from the family home we inherited. (Built in 1956)
  • Family silver (from silverware to ice buckets to serving trays)  – though I have no idea when we will ever use these items.
  • Crystal glassware – doesn’t quite match our Fiesta Ware, but it’s nice to have handy for a glass of wine.
  • The Family Bible and a few other various special books from the family. Are we supposed to keep that updated?
  • Nice family antique furniture pieces from grandmother’s house in Philadelphia – hence, the Philadelphia room. (And a lot of just old stuff I’d love to chalk paint, but H quivers when I mention that)

JUNK BAD STUFF

  • Too many tools in that junk room workroom. (Dad’s room) How many screwdrivers, hammers, drill bits, extra screws, and tools you don’t even know what they are used for does one family need?
  • Paperwork for TV’s, and all things electrical that have log since been gone. Though I don’t know how they actually managed to discard anything. We only have the proof it once was because of the paperwork and H’s memory. Do we really need the warranty on a toaster I’ve never met?
  • A re-loader for shotgun shells – and all the paraphilia used with it. Also, boxes and boxes of old shells that were reloaded many years ago. No we aren’t trying to squander ammunition for a far-fetched raid or shoot-out. H, Dad, and his brothers were big hunters back in the day. We have a stuffed crow to prove it.  As Andrew said, “Get rid of those old shells, Dad. They aren’t even any good anymore. That’s why I kept missing those doves. You will have to buy some good ones if you want me to go hunting with you.”
  • Old ceiling fan’s in new boxes, and old carburetors in the replacement’s boxes for cars long gone. For that matter, anything old in a new box.
The list goes on and on and would be a long read for a rainy afternoon if you’re interested. Maybe H says the same negative things about my stuff. I don’t know. I’ve never heard him say. I do keep mine contained to one room mostly and have started doling out family heirlooms from my side of the family to my kids. That’s mainly because there isn’t much room around here for my stuff. He has promised to clean the crap stuff out of that workroom when he retires in two months. I’m not holding my breath though.
~Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

19 responses »

  1. I hate that fluttery stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Purge, purge, purge! Nothing feels better than cleaning out a bunch of, umm, crap that you don’t need and will never need.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I have the opposite problem. My H is a purger and I am the Keeper of “Treasures” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Perhaps your husband needs some professional help — like a person to throw out anything that isn’t current. Maybe he should read Marie Kondo’s book. Good luck with him (then again maybe some therapy will help).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Clearing up things from the past is tedious work. It’s ASTONISHING the sort of things that gather over the years. It usually defies reason! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Couldn’t you make some money on the car parts? And the old fans? I know there are stores that sell refurbished things in New York. They have to exist in Florida too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

