RSS Feed

JUST ONE WORD – K?

JUST ONE WORD – K?

In the world of technology and constant texting there are a lot of abbreviations called acronyms which are actually words that are formed by combining some parts (usually the first letters) of some other terms. I don’t use these much in texting. Maybe because I don’t know all the lingo and sometimes I’m left hanging.

The top ten acronyms used in texting are:

  1. 2moro – Tomorrow
  2. 2nite – Tonight
  3. BRB – Be Right Back
  4. BTW – By The Way -or- Bring The Wheelchair
  5. B4N – Bye For Now
  6. BCNU – Be Seeing You
  7. BFF – Best Friends Forever -or- Best Friend’s Funeral
  8. CYA – Cover Your Ass -or- See Ya
  9. DBEYR – Don’t Believe Everything You Read
  10. DILLIGAS – Do I Look Like I Give A Sh**

The rest you can see here if you think you are up to it after the first ten. There’s about three up there that have more than one meaning. How are you supposed to know what is meant?

  • 1st scenario – You’ve just had a fight with your all time best friend. Your cell goes off with a text alert from that said friend saying, ‘BFF’ , which means Best Friends Forever. Wow! She forgave me! So sweet…But wait…That can also mean Best Friend’s Funeral. Should you rush out to meet her or hop the next flight out of the country?
  • 2nd scenario – Your cell goes off in the middle of the night. A text from your significant other who has been off mountain climbing. You read,  ‘BTH’. Then your phone goes dead and your charger is no where to be found. The rest of the night you are up worrying. Did he forget to tell me something or did he fall off that mountain and I need to BTW – Bring The Wheelchair?
  • 3rd scenario – This could be very confusing if you are in mixed company and your cell alerts you from your BFF with a message of ‘CYA’. Wait a minute. Is my ass showing you wonder as you try to discreetly look behind you. Maybe I just put my foot in my mouth and need to cover that lie. Who sees my what and where and when?
Like I said, it could be very confusing if you aren’t in the loop. One that didn’t even make the list is my top acronym and the one that irks me more than anything. It’s the letter K. Yep, just K. How hard is it to type OK? I’m not asking for even the correct spelling of okay. OK will suffice.
And that last one listed – by the time I figure out what order to put the letters in the moment has passed!
I wonder if the next generation will know how to spell.
~Elle

 

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

22 responses »

  1. I’m gonna say “Dilligas” to some 19-year-old tonight and see if they know what I’m talking about. If they flip me off, well, that’ll be a good clue.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I know that Knowles is a fairly common name, but I wonder if we’re related? By marriage, that is. Knowles is my husband’s name. I’m happy to have found your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. LOL – Thank goodness you gave us the cheat sheet with the meaning of the acronyms. I’m obviously not keeping up to date when it comes to texting acronyms.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I mean… I thought LOL meant Lots of Love for ages so this just isn’t going to work for me! X

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Haha! I had to ask about that one too and my son had to tell me what lmao meant when I first started texting! We could get into some serious trouble if we don’t keep up with the dialogue Jackie…

      Like

      Reply
  5. Thanks for bringing me up to speed. I am hopeless

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. I don’t think the text generation is going to know how to write in complete sentences, use punctuation (umm, emojis don’t count), or apparently, write in cursive. I love technology but it is definitely having some unintended consequences.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Great post! The acronyms drive me crazy. Not only that, if I were to use the acronyms above, there is no telling what my spell correct on the phone will invent in their place. It already sends messages I didn’t intend. I still prefer a good old-fashioned verbal exchange. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Mostly i attempt to write proper english. Or what passes for it. There was time when the use of acronyms was appropriate. For the keyboards were limited and the cost of sending by each letter. While I am better now with a keyboard. I still write in cursive. My phone a Note 5 allows for this, in it’s Action Memo and SNote functions. Any cursive cane be turned into text and I find that handy. For any sort of plans, the shapes may be drawn and then it will change it into a regular technical drawing, Very handy for someone wanting to draw up plans for a weekend project. Honestly, the ability of this Galaxy phone is beyond wonder.

    So as Gollum from the Lord of the Rings, return of the kings, might hiss. Keep your nasty acronyms and just give me sweet fish. Jolly good, eh what? Ripping good fun … Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

