RSS Feed

WILL IT PAY TO BE OPTIMISTIC?

WILL IT PAY TO BE OPTIMISTIC?

Not having any idea about what to write about for an O word, H has unwillingly provided me with a subject by graciously losing his wallet.

Optimistic – adjective –

  1. Disposed to take a favorable view of events or conditions and to expect the most favorable outcome.
  2. Reflecting a favorable review of events and conditions and expectations of a positive outcome; demonstrating optimism: an optimistic plan.
  3. Of or relating to optimism.

I’m trying to be optimistic about this ordeal. He’s kicking himself. I knew it was going to happen sooner or later and just had that thought run through my head two days earlier as he had to go back to the car to get his wallet before we went into a restaurant.

I’ve told him often he carries too much crap in that wallet and when he started recently to take it out of his pocket while driving because it was uncomfortable to sit on, I knew that was true.

He went to Winn Dixie this morning to pick up a couple of items we needed and came straight home. No other stops. Didn’t talk to anyone. Unloaded the one bag of groceries and put them up. That’s all.

Two hours later we were getting ready to walk out of the house to go to Troy for Andrews concert he was  featured on timpani in and H asked, “Have you seen my wallet?”

We spent about fifteen minutes searching high and low, east and west, north and south. No wallet. Not in his truck, under the seats, in the bed of it or under it. Not in the yard, not in the seats, not inside or outside – Sam I am – I’m too tired and frustrated to make sense. Sorry.

We had to leave or be late for the concert. I called Winn Dixie. No one had turned it in, so in hopes it might turn up, I left my number. We drove through their parking lot on the way out and gave it a quick scan. No wallet.

At nine-forty-five when we returned home from Troy to search some more – which by-the-way was a great concert. I hope to have a video of Andrew’s featured piece on my author Facebook page soon. Can’t do it now because we are still searching for a wallet!

I’ve checked the accounts of all his credit and debit cards. None have been used. What next? I guess it’s time to sit down and start calling to have cards cancelled and reissued. What an ordeal!

Being optimistic for almost twenty-four hours has not brought back the wallet. I was hoping whoever found it would do the decent thing and turn it in to customer service at Winn Dixie, all items intact. Heck! They could even keep the cash for their trouble which would have taken about five minutes or less of their time.

But no – someone has an almost new wallet, twenty-one dollars in cash, a driver’s license that will be of no help if they are carded or caught speeding,  and various credit cards that will be of no use in a few minutes.

 
After coming across this picture, even more stuff we didn’t think of came to mind. His medical insurance cards and voter ID were in there. Luckily, his social security card wasn’t. I don’t think. Now I’ll have to go search for that to make sure! Where did I put that? Uggh!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

18 responses »

  1. I am in total sympathy with your husband and mine would be in total sympathy with you. I lose stuff all the time. Important things. It drives him crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It is a dreaded fear, losing ones wallet. Fortunately women don’t have to worry about that problem. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I did leave my purse in the buggy at Walmart in the parking lot with about $400 cash in it! I called as soon as I got home and noticed. Someone had turned it in to customer service and all was intact, including my cash…I was lucky. Didn’t want to have to explain that one to H. He would not have been as nice as I have been…

      Like

      Reply
  3. My H is the same. Must be a guy thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Oh shucks! That’s too bad, did you find it? I’ve been there myself so many times – leaving it all over the place. Most times I did get it back but the instant panic and the thought and work of getting all those cards cancelled and alternatives applied for is a major hassle! Good luck with finding it back – and good luck for the rest of the challenge! We’re quite close to the finish line!

    Cheers,
    Deepa
    Deepa’s Kaleidoscope

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Ugh!
    I’m an optimist and I do hear of incidents even here in big bad NYC where a wallet is mailed to the owner a week or two after the loss. Hang tight and let’s hope Lady Luck and her sister Lady Optimist are smiling down.
    XO!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Rhonda Strong Gilmour

    Oh dear, don’t you hate it when this kind of stuff happens? I’ve found a few wallets over the years, always without cash, but sometimes with ID and credit cards still there. It’s not that hard to track down the owner and return the wallet. Perhaps you’ll get it back yet, but you can’t take the chance and have to go through all the rigmarole of canceling cards. Ugh. I hope a big blob of karma falls on anyone who found the wallet and didn’t return it.
    @RhondaGilmour from
    Late Blooming Rose

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. You make a good argument for Apple Pay. I would like to see the day when we no longer have to carry around cash and credit cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

