RSS Feed

CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW? 

CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW? 

Grocery shopping is not my favorite past time and when H is along for the ride it’s out of control. 

Since he will be retiring in a month we’ve been trying to pace ourselves, practicing living on a budget – well, I have anyway. I think that is one of those things we discussed when he wasn’t listening. I’m beginning to think half the time he doesn’t listen and the other half he doesn’t hear. 

On the way home from the Jazz festival last night I told him to stop at the store so I could run in and get a loaf of bread. I knew when the questions started I should have picked it up this morning when I could have slipped away by myself . 

all I need is a loaf of bread

all I need is a loaf of bread



“Do you need milk?”

 “No.” 

“What about orange juice?” 

“Have some.” 

“Coffee?” 

“Just bought some.” 

“Do you want some bananas?

“No.”

“Do we have any bananas?”

“No.”

“Then get some bananas.”  (I haven’t a clue why he even asked if I wanted some.)

“All I need is bread.”

So in we went. Both of us. To get one loaf of bread. I wasn’t surprised when forty minutes later we exited with our bank account leaner by $128.43. This bread run also included cat food, bird food, a bottle of wine, and a $10.00 bottle of pomegranate juice which I don’t even drink. 


H is usually frugal when purchasing anything and will drive across town to buy gas to save 3 cents on a gallon. He never looks at the price tag when it comes to food though. I think I will give him a grocery allowance when he retires and when it’s gone – it’s gone! 

Hopefully we won’t be that old couple who has to supplement their diet with cat food. If so, it will surely be top of the line and we will even have bird seed sprinkles…

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

22 responses »

  1. This post makes me laugh. My husband and I are the same way. I think we’ve bought everything we need for the week on the weekend, and yet somehow he finds an excuse to stop by the store on the way home from work during the week. *sigh* Our grocery budget suffers because of it. It’s all good though – he cooks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. If I go shopping by myself, I pretty much stick to my list – unless something we use/eat all the time is on sale. My husband, though, is much more apt to buy things on an impulse. Although I don’t enjoy grocery shopping, I try to schedule trips when I’m out doing other things… alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Ha, ha, the listening thing! I’ve been thinking of recording everything I say to counter the claim, ‘You never told me that.’

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. I do this all the time. Can’t seem to stick to my shopping list.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  5. I could give you some pointers on the shopping if you want them. Here you go:
    1. Keep a list on your refrigerator all week.
    2. At the end of the week, organize the list on your phone by how the store is arranged.
    3. Shop only one time per week.
    4. Never buy anything that is not on your list.
    5. Cook (large) one time per week.
    6. Eat your cooked meal for lunch all week.
    7. Eat salads or sandwiches for supper to eat lighter.
    8. Not only will you save on your grocery bill, but you will trim your waistline.
    9. Eat out only once or twice per week.
    10. This last item might or might not help your grocery bill, but it is worth a try. Weigh every day and log your food in an app. I use My Fitness Pal. It helps keep me grounded!
    Happy shopping!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. OK, just in case it comes down to it, I am putting away some of our choicest cans of Friskies. Please know that I’m here if you need to tap in to the supply. Not telling the cats where I’m hiding it.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  7. It is going to be difficult for you living on a budget with scenarios like that. You’ll need to find a happy middle, perhaps?

    I love that POM juice. It has a particular sweetness with a tang that catches at the back of the throat and leaves me, saying … Numm! I know one person who dilutes it into water. I love drinking the whole bottle in one sitting. Nothing else mind just the POM juice and I feel invigorated.

    But ten dollars … american? It would be cheaper to buy a juicing machine and a crate of pomegranates? I keep my bottles, for they are very sturdy and I do juice about once a week. I use the excess into this bottle and have a day or two later. No, I don’t do pomegranates. Carrot, kale, ginger, etc. Something like that. Here in Canada Victoria. I buy a bottle of POM for about $3.00ca. POM for a Pomme? While it is a few months since I bought some. $10.00us is just … well almost ursary. Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  8. My husband is more focused at the grocery store than I am. I’m willing to pick up good looking produce but he will sail right past it if it’s not on “the list.” Your husband could have worse habits so I wouldn’t worry too much.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  9. Love the line… I think that is one of those things we discussed when he wasn’t listening. Sorry, but that’s too funny.

    Things when H retires will of course be different, but it will all work out. He has you steering the ship after all. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  10. You may have to leave him home. My husband does the grocery shopping and sticks to list. I keep a list going on the kitchen counter.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

