RSS Feed

5 NEW SUMMER PROJECTS TO LIGHT UP MY LIFE

Posted on
5 NEW SUMMER PROJECTS TO LIGHT UP MY LIFE

It’s not that we’ve run out of projects – we’ve run out of steam. In this small old house there’s alway something that needs to be reworked, painted, thrown out, or replaced. 

Recently, the thought struck me that we aren’t working on a project. They’re there. In my mind. Or on a list I keep on the fridge crossing off as soon as completed which gives me a feeling of accomplishment.

What was the last project that zapped all our energy and time? I can’t remember. Was it the painting I did last spring before H finished the school year? Surely not! There’s still another bathroom to paint and the paint color to change in our bedroom. There was that new fridge project in November that was dropped like a hot potato – we won’t go there. 

During the summer we had bought a new tv, sofa and chair, and an area rug. That was a project in itself if you’ve ever been shopping with H. Whew…I’m glad that’s over! 

H procrastinated on putting up a storage building in the back yard last year. I know it was overwhelming for him to think of having to assemble it. He did ‘clean at’  the work room, discarding little, and then stacking the rest in the nooks and crannies so as to have a little walk room in there. (I’d  add a picture, but it may scare you.) That didn’t last long when he started adding the junk I stacked by the door that absolutely had to leave the house. The cat food and bird food containers have been squeezed into the last bit of floor space. 

He often muses – being afraid I may hold him to it – about cleaning that disaster up and purchasing that badly needed storage shed. I know this because I can read his mind. I learned to years ago. Now if I could just figure out how to manipulate it…

I penciled in a few more projects on the fridge list because it was growing short. 

  1. Choose and install outside tile for the front entrance and breezeway. 
  2. Choose a new front door, back door, and closet doors. Order and install. 
  3. Purchase a storage shed and assemble it for all that junk on the carport that I really could live without, but some people think they need. (Out of sight, out of mind)
  4. Paint the bedroom and bathroom. 
  5. Chalkpaint the bedside tables and chest for the bedroom.

Order of importance to be decided by (his) mood. Numbers 1, 4, and 5 I can do myself and in an emergency I could also tackle 2 and 3, but let’s hope there’s a little cooperation on his part. After all, I made the list. All he has to do is choose one. 

Never fear. We now have a plan for summer projects. At least I do…

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. Um Um. I get it. I spend way too much time shifting my stuff. One day it’ll change.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I’m good at making lists. So you know, I at least get that far. Yep. Lists. That’s it…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. We are project people too; it seems that we are always at the beginning, the end, or in the middle of several at all times. My husband is much less of a procrastinator than I am, though. We have trouble making decisions sometimes but, when they are made, he moves forward. Your list looks pretty doable… have you thought of just moving forward yourself? Your husband might be relieved and you get what you want. Win-win!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

