RSS Feed

PRIVATE MATTERS WITH FACEBOOK FRIENDS

PRIVATE MATTERS WITH FACEBOOK FRIENDS

What’s the worse thing you’ve read on your personal Facebook page?  I’m not talking about freak car accidents, sudden deaths, mass shootings, or political situations. These articles are inevitable if you are a Facebook participator. 


More often we are made aware of incidentals in our FB ‘friends’ lives that really have no business being posted online.  I use the word ‘friends’ lightly. If your ‘friend’ is tagged in a post from her ‘friend’ it may very well end up in your news feed even though you are not a ‘friend’. It’s a circus out there in Facebook land! 


Don’t let Facebook fool you into believing you can choose your own ‘friends’. It seems when you add a ‘friend’ you also get the whole family – lock, stock, and barrel! 


I once read a post on my FB news feed from a mother to her daughter berating her and demanding she get her sorry A** off FB and answer her texts immediately or all HE-double-L would break out. And she wasn’t kidding either…

I assume the mother had not gotten the response she wanted because she then preceded to post vicious comments to her daughters boyfriend (who was not a ‘friend’ of mine) concerning his relationship with her daughter. Of course there was back and forth bickering and name calling and shortly there were plenty of comments and criticism from all sides and from readers who should not have been involved. It got pretty heated at one point. Oh my! 


They are gone. Off my ‘friend’ list. I have enough turmoil in my own life without having to deal with the problems of others. 


With social media on the rise is nothing sacred anymore?

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

17 responses »

  1. Be safe and have a happy Fourth, Elle. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. After years spent avoiding FB (except for to use as evidence in trials!), it was driven home to me that if I didn’t participate in social media it would be difficult to get my writing out there. So I bit the bullet. To me, it’s a tool and how it’s used is a choice. Just like a knife can be used to help serve a meal or harm a person, FB can be used to help/entertain or harm. I enjoy the former and refuse to get drawn in to the latter!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh Shel! I understand completely. I started on FB when my kids told me I needed one to see pics of my grandchildren…I doubt seriously they would have withheld pics if I hadn’t. From there I started my author FB page to promote. At least I keep the two separate…~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. I’m on Facebook, but I’m relatively judicious about who I friend. I hide the posts from several friends (mainly family) because I just shake my head when I read what they write. And I know that will only get worse during the election.

    Because my list of ‘friends’ includes everything from neighbours to elderly aunts to former co-workers, I don’t post much of substance. Recipes, sewing things, everything cat, a few photos now and then – but I’m really careful about what I say or post. I’ve been known to post things before going to bed, then will get up an hour later and remove them. So much of what we post there is up for interpretation, or sharing. And I honestly don’t trust Mark Zuckerberg and his crew to keep anything of mine private. I know all of that information is just a commodity.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I have a love/hate relationship with FaceBook. I can’t help it, it pulls me in…but not my drama! Wait, I don’t really have any drama. Hmm. Maybe that’s why.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Elle, I confine most of my FB activity to re-posting others, who see that authority is manipulating us, into a NWO. Am I a nutbar? Maybe, but I’m an honest nutbar … Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. After being on FB for several years, I decided to close my account. One of the better decisions I’ve made in recent years.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Never been on Farcebook, never will.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

