RSS Feed

PARKING PROBLEMS

PARKING PROBLEMS

Every few years or so H gets new car fever. I think he just likes to drive through those Toyota dealerships with his adrenaline pumping, and then see what kind of deal he can strike with the salesmen. 

He’s tough, they say, and will walk away easily because he knows he really doesn’t need  a new vehicle. Does anyone?

 Everytime he gets that urge, I cringe, the numbers flashing before my eyes. I spend hours surfing through my phone content, reading, or listening to Audible, while he wheels and deals. 

Then we walk calmly away as he replies to the distraught salesman, “I’ll get back to you. Let me think about it.”

Sometimes he’s not so calm, when walking away, if he thinks they are trying to pull one over on him, refusing to give him the trade-in amount he asks for. He’s done his homework. 

My sister tells me I have no worry. “It will take him ten years to buy a new truck.” 

I don’t think so. He’s in more of a hurry now than he used to be. We just bought a new 2016 car in December, 2015, trading in Andrews old car, and handing our 2009 over to him. 

I’m just wondering when H closes this deal, which vehicle will score the place of honor under the carport. It’s usually the new vehicle and we drive it less to keep the mileage low. Men! 

But I have a legitimate argument this time. My car is still new. It only has 6000 miles on it because – you guessed it – we’ve been driving the truck a lot because it was older. 

It makes my head spin thinking about it! Maybe we’ll extend the carport like I’ve been suggesting. That may take the sting out of that truck note!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

4 responses »

  1. That’s one reason I like leasing – a brand new car every three years.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

