RSS Feed

So What’s Your Excuse? 

So What’s Your Excuse? 

I’m not political. H is. He’s been glued to the television set throughout this long election ordeal, seldom coming up for air. 

The Trump/Hillary situation takes top priority around the country but then there’s also the local or not-so-local situations to consider. 

H is taking politicing a step further, since his retirement from teaching, and is out there in the mainstream with the best of them for Walton County, Florida. That stand in itself, says more than you’d think. 

He’s retired from teaching in Walton County and we live in Okaloosa County – meaning we can’t vote in Walton County. That doesn’t stop him and he’s off to hand out brochures, put out signs, and talk up his candidate of choice, whether he can cast his vote or not, dragging me along behind him. 

And I use drag lightly because like I said, I’m not very political and usually keep my ideas on the subject to myself, not voicing my opinion, especially to strangers. 

Today we stumbled upon a first as H was combing the streets for Walton County residents, in need of having their ear turned to help them in their voting decision, on the right candidate for Walton County Schools superintendent. 

Now we’ve come across a lot of excuses for not voting in this election, and some are completely legitimate – don’t live in the County , convicted felons can’t vote, and not registered. Then H starts up a conversation with this nice lady but she doesn’t vote because of biblical reasons. 

Hmmm? I’ve never heard this one before but I bet some of you have…

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

3 responses »

  1. I hadn’t heard that one either! I will absolutely vote (in fact, I already did). There are too many low-information voters who rely on obviously biased “news” sources and spout crazy conspiracy theories as fact. A meme is not a truth. I don’t usually share my political leanings with strangers either, but I’m glad that there are people like your husband who get involved.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Elle, for years I avoided the topics of politics and religion… I certainly avoided it in my blog! However, I have always trusted my feelings, too, and weeks ago, I had the strongest sense that our media was NOT giving us unbiased information. SO, I did a bit of research and discovered that HRC was now even worse than when I’d researched her in the 90s (with the intention of basing a novel on her and avoiding building a background — that plan did NOT work out)… I felt a strong compulsion to share what I’d learned, so I initially planned to write one political-toned post.
    “One” has turned into quite a few political posts, as I learn that HRC is truly ill, that Jill Stein is now endorsing Trump, that in the shadows, there have been coups and now counter-coups ….
    I already voted, but I’m still sharing what I learn (and can verify) for those who are still trying to make up their minds.
    At this point, I’m beginning to wonder if the media will ever start reporting things in an unbiased way Iso I can get back to posts about petcare) OR IF I’ll be writing these info-posts indefinitely.
    Jeanne

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

