RSS Feed

WHAT’S IN YOUR CLOSET? 

WHAT’S IN YOUR CLOSET? 

Do you ever catch yourself wondering what will happen to all your stuff when you bite the dust? I can imagine if I go first, H gathering all things around him, holding on tight because he loves stuff. At least I think that is the reason we have more furniture, knickknacks, and unuasable clutter in our lives. His crap, not mine. 

I believe he has hoarder tendencies, I have to keep in check. It could be worse. Those hoarder shows on tv make my skin crawl. H keeps things like old ceiling fans packed into the new ceiling fan box, and old bathroom faucets packed into the new faucet box. We have more tools and old car parts, stashed in his workroom, left over from his Dad who also liked stuff. How many screw drivers does one family need? 

I’ve slowly started doling out once-cherished items to my kids – one item at a time. I don’t want to overwhelm them with too much at once. 

The china from a first marriage was dropped off with Kerri last week. What she will do with it, I don’t know., but I now have an empty cabinet! Who-hop! 

The gold-plated flat wear and silver chest traveled home with Amie last summer. She actually uses it. 

Jessie has an old upright radio that never worked and probably never will and a sewing rocker I had no room for. There is also a tiny drop-leaf table, perfect for Cadences doll tea parties, she took off my hands. Now Sydney Paige is in possession. 

I honestly can’t say what I’ve passed on to Terri, but if she actually reads this post, I hope she’ll put out her hand for a bit of nostalgia. There is plenty where all that came from. Like me, she doesn’t have much square footage available. 

One day when Andrew finishes with all his degrees and has a home of his own, I’ll start shifting things his way. 

I went through boxes of old photos, years ago, dividing them up, making picture albums for all. Now I seem to have more boxes of photos! They multiply like rabbits. It’s on my to-do list to divide and conquer again. 

I’ve passed out trinkets, memorabilia,old school papers, and odds and ends to their rightful owners, but something new always seems to turn up in the strangest places. 

Terri and Kerri’s baby teeth tumbled out of a box of old files last spring. What was I thinking? If I hand them over, the Tooth Fairy theory will be exposed to all! 

Who wants Granny’s small spatula, perfect for flipping eggs or grill cheese sandwiches? Show of hands! I know I’m not the only one who loves that spatula. 

Trying not to be morbid, I have big plans for H’s stuff if he kicks the bucket first. Until then I’ll just have to contend with the things I know we could live without. 

We all have our little quirks and sentimentally. What’s in your closet? 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

4 responses »

  1. Even though you aren’t my mama, I will gladly take that spatula off your hands.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I already loaded up the car with my oldest son’s stuff, which is now taking up real estate in his basement. He wasn’t too happy, arguing that most of it’s junk, to which I said, “Then throw it out.” I think the stuff is still sitting there. The way I see it, we’re doing them a favor by unloading it now. I can say from experience that cleaning out a parent’s home is no picnic.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Never thought of it that way but it’s so true! We are going to have to get a storage unit for Andrews stuff when he goes to grad school because he’s not taking it all with him! Now I’ll have a place to put all the stuff he left when he went to Troy!

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

