RSS Feed

5 THINGS THAT DRIVE ME NUTS! 

5 THINGS THAT DRIVE ME NUTS! 
  1. Finding a glass with milk residue in my sink in the morning that sat there all night fermenting. H drinks a glass of milk every night and I don’t see why it’s so hard for him to run a little water in the bottom of that glass before going to bed – or even wash it for that matter! 
  2. Finding out a bit of news after the fact and then being told, “I know I told you that.” My kids do that to me all the time . Are they trying to insure I go crazy before my time? They may have told someone, but that someone wasn’t me! 
  3. Telling H something and when the subject comes up, he says I didn’t tell him. I can usually tell him where we were, what he was wearing, and what time of day it was when I told him. I think he tunes me out! 
  4. Having to go out to move our vehicles around in the driveway before we go to bed. It’s no secret. We are short of parking spaces at this small house, especially when Andrew is home or someone’s visiting. On trash pick-up day we have to make sure everything is off the street or not too close to the trash bin. I’d hate to have my car smashed into with that huge trash truck, though they do a really great job of turning around in the cul-de-sac. It’s a nightmare when we have more than one extra car here!
  5. Going to the store and forgetting to buy the one item you actually went for. But you come home with five bags of stuff you didn’t know you needed!

I’m sure there’s more if I thought about it hard enough, but there’s no sense in driving myself more nuts than I already am! 

What drives you nuts? 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

18 responses »

  1. #1 also drives me nuts. . . I hate finding glasses with milk residue.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. 2 and 3 are regulars for me – I’m thinking of recording all conversations as proof.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I’m sorry but aren’t number 2 and 3 a little contradictory? If you get upset at him for not remembering you told him something then your children (me) are allowed to say they told you something and you don’t remember. Love you mom! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Having lived alone for over 15 years. I always wash out cups and glasses as I drop them at the sink. I try to always wash up after eating or whatever too. Having a limited number of dishes, helps. I have more, they’re in my storage unit.

    Now living in an apartment with underground parking space … absolute heaven after years of using my space at rear of house through winters. Sweeping the snow each day … before I go shopping, or anywhere really. I now use my Galaxy Note 5 and the marvellous s-pen to make a note. Remarkably, the ubiquitous paper pads now languish, since buying that phone.

    Not knowing the news? Now you’re a woman. Which woman does not have a hard time dealing with that? Your husband H, is a man. Ditto. They just don’t listen. It’s all white noise. Try taping a note to the milk carton? Threaten to use the same glass for him again? Without washing. Tell him you need a dish washer, if it keeps on? I dunno? You’re a smart cookie! Surely you can find a way? Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. What a great idea for a post. I could add many to that list and may do just that. As for the store, what drives me crazy is paying for an item and then the packer neglecting to put it in my cart, unbeknownst to me until I am already home.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. The milk glass problem is good for anything that goes in the sink. Or better yet, when not give the used dish a quick wash, dry and put it away. I hate walking into a kitchen only to find dried anything on any dish. Actually, I hate finding dirty dishes in the sink period. And we do not have an impersonal dishwasher in the RV.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Good post to challenge others to post about!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

