RSS Feed

It’s All In The Way You Ask

It’s All In The Way You Ask

Now that we’ve moved all the boxes and extra percussion equipment Andrew has collected over the last few years from his bedroom to his newly acquired storage unit we can be labeled as true empty nesters – or not. Just because they are out of the nest doesn’t mean they don’t need you. 

A few weeks ago I received a text message from Andrew, my youngest,  soliciting  my assistance. 


Ha! Who can say “NO” when asked so eloquently? I couldn’t imagine what he wanted me to do. It’s nice to know he has faith in me to do whatever it is he needs done. This time it was the zipper in his new mallet bag. He wanted the zipper flipped so the bag would open from the top instead of the bottom. Seems that would be more convenient when just slipping out one mallet. 

Why they don’t make them that way to begin with I don’t know. I told him to leave that company a review and suggest just that, but he wouldn’t hear of it. Supposedly that bag is attached to a big name percussionist and he didn’t want to offend him. Whatever

It took three hours of wrestling to remove the zipper and flip it upside down to open as he wished! At that point my charges had skyrocketed. Good thing for him he’s not a paying customer. 

Last week I had a trip planned to Atlanta to see three grandchildren dance in a dance competition and a side trip to Tennessee to see Andrew play in a percussion concert. When I relinquished the newly revised mallet bag over to its rightful owner he handed me one to alter for a friend. Ugh! 

No, I am not going into the zipper replacement business. I finished the second one two days ago and it’s on it’s way via snail mail to Tennessee. Done and done! 

Last year he had me making black covers for heating pads to warm up tambourines on stage. You can read about that ordeal  here

I also fashioned some felts strips last year, with strings attached, that hang on the side of the timpani, but I can’t even remember what the purpose of that was! 

I think his friends are in awe that he has a mother who can sew. Threading a needle is a lost art these days! 

So that’s what I do when I’m not writing and a lot of the time I’m doing the same when I should be writing. 

My recent nonfiction book, Coffee-Drunk Or Blind, can be found on Amazon here. Leave your review on Amazon and you will automatically be entered into a drawing for a $50 Amazon gift card. Check out my author Facebook page for details! 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

3 responses »

  1. Yay you! I’ve done some zipper replacements and I hate it. Reworking something is harder than making it from the start. Sewing is a dying art. I don’t think I have a single friend with a sewing machine. I have three. Two are specific to a function. Wouldn’t give them up although I rarely use them (and good grief, I never tell my friends about them 🙂 ) You are a good Mom.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Ha! Thanks Kate! I hate doing repairs like zippers. I used to have friends to ask me to replace zippers in jeans. I told them to go to the cleaners. They wouldn’t want to pay me what I would charge! I have four machines. They all do different functions. Also have a hemmer that sometimes scares me but when I use it I cut my time by more than half! I don’t announce that! ~Elle

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

