RSS Feed

3 reasons people don’t leave reviews and how we can try to change that

3 reasons people don’t leave reviews and how we can try to change that

I get this. Sometimes the internet is overwhelming with too much information,  and to get from point A to point B takes more time than you are willing to spend or have. 

Recently I’ve been surfing the web to find out how to steer more traffic to my recently published book, Coffee-Drunk Or Blind, and encourage those who have already read to please leave a review. I’ve given away lots of copies and have sold more but…my review count is stuck on thirty.  

Thirty great reviews is nothing to sneeze at. I’m shooting for fifty because that seems a nice round figure. Also, Amazon puts your book out there to more customers if you hit fifty reviews is what I’ve heard. 

Asking for reviews is not easy. Suggesting they review your book when handing over a free copy should be a given, but that’s not always the case. Authentic book reviewers, on the other hand, usually do post reviews immediately after they have read your book, but sometimes your book is on page 19 of their TBR list! They also post that review on all of their own social media sights. I’ve searched for book reviewers on Twitter and sent off query letters. A few responded. More didn’t. It’s a start though, that you can make to get your book out to the public. Make sure you inquire reviews from a reviewer who reads your genre. 

Do we, as authors, deserve reviews? I hope so. By writing good content and putting our best foot forward to provide our readers with what they want, says we do. 

Sometimes we feel as though the majority of our day has gone to social media marketing and promoting our wares when what we really want to be doing is writing our next best seller! Are you with me on that? The scale for me usually tips to promoting, leaving writing by the wayside and I don’t see it getting better anytime soon. 

No one reading your blog, Facebook, or even Twitter wants to be bombarded with pleads of, Buy My  Book!, Buy My Book!, Buy My Book! constantly, day in and day out. Besides pushing our latest book at our audience we should also give them what they want – and that’s a little of ourselves. Blogging and Facebook make this easy. Twitter, not so much. Twitter, to me, is so fast-paced it’s easy to get lost in the stream. 

Engage with your readers by posting snippets of your life – not too personal – and be consistent. I regularly fail on that consistent measure. My mother, the main reason CDB became a book, said to always be consistent. This came with raising children. Seems it works in other aspects of my life also. 

Getting a routine down with a newly retired husband underfoot all day has been a challenge. He’s invaded my space and my time is not always my own anymore, but that’s another story. We’re working it out… H isn’t all about social media. I’ve had to teach him that I can write a book, and publish a book, but to get it to sell is where the work begins. Social media is the key! Right now H is cleaning the car. He thinks I should help. “Sorry H.  I’m marketing my book!” This is much more fun than cleaning the car! 

I’m going to make this part easy for you. This is what I’ve discovered from my research of why people don’t leave book reviews. 

  1. The number one reason I’ve found for not posting a review is some people have no idea where to go to do just that. Make a short link to your review page on Amazon and include it on your social media pages. (bitly.com is easy to use) Here’s a landing page link for CDB. See you there if you’ve read the book! (Could I be anymore blunt than that?)
  2. Number two reason for not posting a review  – “I don’t know what to say. I’m not good at writing.” I can’t tell you what to say because I want your honest review. It doesn’t have to be long. Short and sweet! Just a few words on what you liked or what you didn’t. “I loved this story!” Hopefully you did love it. And you can add those stars. Five are nice. 
  3. Number three reason – Some people just don’t review. You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him drink. Sadly, I can’t help you there. But I still hope you enjoyed the book! 

You can read Coffee-Drunk Or Blind for free on KindleUnlimited. The cost otherwise is a mere $2.99. When you leave your review on Amazon you’ll be automatically entered in my give-a-way for a $50 Amazon gift card to be given away on my author Facebook page –  as soon as I reach those fifty reviews I’m striving for. Think of the books you could buy when you win! One in fifty aren’t bad odds either! 

If you have other ideas for marketing and promoting your books, and acquiring those beloved reviews, I’d love to hear them! 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

10 responses »

  1. I agree with the previous comment that it’s difficult to comment on Amazon. Several years ago I purchased an autographed copy of a book directly from the author. After I read it, I told her that I enjoyed the book. She then asked me to post a review on Amazon.. I tried to post the review, but had a lot of difficulty because Amazon didn’t have me listed as someone who’d made a “verified purchase.” The author was upset that I couldn’t figure out how to post the review and I felt really bad. Bottom line – I haven’t even tried to do any reviews since then.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Amazon usually separates verified and non-verified reviews which I think is wrong. If you read the book you should have the same rights no mater how you got your hands on it. I have a lot of non verified reviews on CDB because I gave a lot away. Just like the issue with not enough words, this is an issue with Amazon I have heard from others. Hopefully, one day they will “fix” that, Sheryl.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Another obstacle to writing reviews is Amazon’s requirements. Sometimes I just want to write “I loved it!” or give it stars without text, but Amazon requires a heading and comment with a minimum word count.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Some good tips there, Elle, and it’s useful to remind people how important it is for writers to get reviews. 30 – I’m impressed! I’m stuck on 14 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks Curtis. My first book is stuck on 17! I will be honest and tell you that quite a few of those reviews from CDB or from family old friends of my mothers! A lot never had any idea we did such a crazy thing. Did I send you a digital copy? If not I meant to. Message me on my author page and I’ll get one to you. ~Elle

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

