RSS Feed

Nothing Better To Do With Your Time? 

Posted on
Nothing Better To Do With Your Time? 

Twice this week I’ve come across a post on Facebook that throws me for a loop or leaves me hanging. Scrolling through Facebook, minding my own business, (and others) I recently came across a post that was titled: Why Joanna Gaines is Leaving the Show. This piece of information was referring to Fixer Upper, my all-time favorite reality show. 

What? I was prettty sure she wasn’t because Joanna was the show. Her husband, Chip, runs a close race comming in at second. If she left the show there wouldn’t be a show so what was this all about? 

Of course I read the article which I figured was a lot of BS. Then I immediately started a snopes search which proved me right. 

BTW, Clint Eastwood was found dead of natural causes last week. That broke my heart because Clint Eastwood reminds me of my father. I remember, too many years ago, faithfully watching Wagon Train with him with Clint playing the part of Rowdy Yates. With Snopes to the rescue, I found this too, was a hoax. 

What causes people to write up articles of misinformation or pranks and distribute them worldwide? Is it boredom or just plain meanness? Do they get a rush out of pulling the wool over ones eyes? Do they get paid by the piece or by how many hits it gets on the web? 

What is in that job description anyway? 

Creative writer needed for dishonest articles. No experience needed. Just a devious, heartless attitude toward mankind. Apply here. 

Another mystery to me is the hacking of someone’s Facebook page. You’ve all seen it happen. Maybe not personally, but to one of your friends or family members. What could possibly be the benefits of taking over another’s identy on FB? Money is not usually involved. What a way to gather friends! I don’t have enough time to take care of my own life let alone a strangers. 

One last piece of misguided information we all run across daily, if associated with any form of social media, is the article titled to catch your eye – and it does. When opened, the article has nothing to do with the title. 

It’s such a waste of our precious time to be pulled into these scams! What’s your most unfavorable misleading article this week? 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress.

8 responses »

  1. It is all FAKE news!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It was something about Trump…. I can’t remember. There is so much stuff on Facebook about him it’s making me crazy and I’m in Canada!
    I, too, don’t ever post something because it’s telling me too. And those “you’ll never guess all 10 of these trivia questions!” I must have pretty smart friends because they get them all.
    Recently there was “copy, paste and re-post if you are there for me as a friend.” That’s emotional blackmail!
    Or ‘share if you hate cancer’. Really? Does someone like cancer?
    Information is big business now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yes! Facebook especially has so many obvious misleading info and some of my friends actually share it as though they believe very word! What happened to connecting with friends? It’s getting to be all political and ads!

      Like

      Reply
  3. I stopped clicking a long time ago. It happened when I saw a headline that Cher was dead (obviously false). I was directed to a website that froze my computer and told me to call a number. I rebooted and that was the last time. Now if I see something I’m curious about, I look for information in other ways, like legit news places.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I think they are interested in getting the reader to click on sites that take them to places that will separate them from their money or personal information. I never click on anything that screams “click on me!” So sad that people do this, but they do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

