RSS Feed

I Read The Book – Then Saw The Movie

Posted on
I Read The Book – Then Saw The Movie

Anne of Green Gables was one of the many books my mother read to us when we were homesteading in Alaska, snowed in with no outlet for our energy. It amazes me that she could calm us so by just reading the written word. I have revisited that time by rereading many of those stories. 

I close my eyes and try to remember her voice reading the so many stories she found in books, but I can’t. She probably read like she wrote, embellishing the contents to hold our attention, fearing we would run amuck if she slowed the pace. 

I’m also surprised she was able to rein in my younger brother to sit still and absorb the stories. Three antsy girls – yes – but you would think Chip would have rather been off slaying dragons or using our dolls as helicopters. The stories gave him plenty of food for thought and instilled the love of reading in all of us. Tish, the baby, slept soundly through our reading adventures. 

To my delight, while scrolling through Netflix titles, I discovered Anne With An E, a Netflix series based on the book Anne of Green Gables.

H agreed so we began to watch. It had been a long time since I had reread the book – probably thirty years – but I remembered the main characters and subjects. I did not remember that Matilda and Mathew Cuthbert were brother and sister adopting Anne instead of the boy they had asked for. I always assumed they were man/wife. Maybe I overlooked that bit of information when I was small. 

We watched the series faithfully – at least I did while H dozed off and on. There were only seven episodes. It seems after researching we will have to wait until March/April 2018 for the second season to air. 

I found mixed reviews of Anne With An E. This happens often when a book is made into a movie because there is so much more detail to be found in the book. As for myself I enjoyed it and will be awaiting the second season. Amybeth McNulty did an amazing job of portraying the part of Anne. She was such a plucky little girl in the book and on screen. 

The series brought back happy memories of my mother reading to her wide-eyed children while we took in every detail of a story that stuck with us for years. I may have to reread this story again! 

What books have you read that you have also enjoyed on the screen? 

~Elle

Discover more books my mother read to us by reading my latest nonfiction book, Coffee-Drunk Or Blind. You can read it free on Kindle Unlimited.  

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

7 responses »

  1. Anne is one of my favorites! I’ve read the series a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. CBC ran the series ‘Anne’ this year and it is fabulous! I’m wondering if it’s the same series re-named for Netflix. This was the first season.
    I, too, was a big fan when I was Anne’s age. I totally related to her.
    I recently saw the movie from the 1940’s on TCM. It listed the star as Anne Shirley (her name in real life) but I kept thinking I recognized that face. Turns out it was Shirley Jones as a teenager!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I think I saw the 1940’s version years ago. Didn’t realize it was Shirley Jones. I don’t see as much TCM with H retired. I don’t want him to think I watch movies all day at times! lol! Even though he does that himself a lot! I can’t wait for the second season of Anne With An E. It will be a long wait!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. I loved that series, as a child, too, and read it to my own munchkins.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

