RSS Feed

The Apple Doesn’t Fall Far From The Tree

Posted on
The Apple Doesn’t Fall Far From The Tree

I laughed when I read this on my Facebook memories this morning. To be honest, it hasn’t gotten any better, except for the fact that we finally got an outdoor storage shed put up and slowly but surely H is cleaning out the workroom and the carport. Soon my car will fit where it is supposed to. I don’t care what junk he puts in that shed. As long as it isn’t in my house it’s a good thing! ~Elle

Finding Myself Through Writing

I can see it in the way he cleans the yard, or the carport, or workroom. Not throwing out useless items because they were Mom or Dad’s. Not letting go because it was something important to them. I shake my head and muse because what else can I do? The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

While replacing the antiquated four blade, no light ceiling fans with five blade fans and light kits, the old fans, of course, are packed into the boxes the new fans came in – nice and neat with a little room to spare. They are then placed in the workroom balanced precariously on top of three ice chests and a mound of boxes filled with items his mother had gathered years ago for a yard sale that never happened.

Somewhere amongst the five trillion screws – and I am not exaggerating –  three dozen screwdrivers, and multitudes…

View original post 208 more words

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

