RSS Feed

Why You Should Always Pay Attention To Weather Alerts On Your Phone

Why You Should Always Pay Attention To Weather Alerts On Your Phone

The bad weather notification or amber alert on my phone seems to go off with emergency alerts at the most inconvenient times – like while I’m sleeping at three am. But then again, when is an emergency ever convienient? I’ve been tempted to disengage the notifications at times because those so-called emergencies usually never come to light.  


Tuesday night we went to bed with rain coming down in torrents and Tropical Storm Cindy beating a path to our doorway. We were hoping not though.  

My phone was continually going off with flash flood warnings and amber alerts most of the night, which I mostly ignored. Finally around 6:20 I picked up my phone tempted to fling it across the room, but instead squinted down at a tornado alert. I had a fleeting thought of running for cover – but where? As I’ve said before this house is like a bomb shelter. We should be safe – if there really is a tornado. I put the phone down and drifted off to sleep. Sleep had not been restful with all the bells and whistles the whole night long. 


Of course the first thing I did,  and most of us do when we wake up, was reach for my phone and scroll through Facebook. Most of my local news comes from Facebook. 

It seems Tropical Storm Cindy had made herself known here in the panhandle of Florida. We knew there would be a lot of rain and a lot of wind. What we didn’t know was there may be some damage – and a tornado! Seriously, I never heard a thing after I disregarded the alert on my phone. I told you we lived in what seems a bomb shelter at times! 

Yep…I should have paid attention to my alerts! When H came in from picking up some limbs in the yard I told him there had been a tornado – behind our house – in Ferry Park. Our back yard backs up the creek and to Ferry Park. We were lucky. Most of the damage was on the other side of the park. 


So off we went in the truck, in the rain, to survey the damage – along with a lot of other people from around town, doing the same. I couldn’t get good pictures with the rain pouring down but there are some in a link on this article

I guess I won’t be disengaging those notifications any time soon. That doesn’t mean I’ll pay closer attention to them though. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

14 responses »

  1. Thank goodness you weren’t hurt. Tornadoes can do so much damage.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. What do you mean when you say that your house is like a bomb shelter? Is it underground?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: draft excerpt | Instagatrix

  4. Pingback: FYI June 25, 2017 |

  5. I suppose, you are right? However, living on the Pacific Northwest does not require the same amount of alertness?

    There should be however, an alert for radiation. Since Fukushima Daiichi has been flooding the ocean with Strontium 90 and other radiations since 2011. This meltdown is far worse than Chernobyl or 3 Mile Island. Yet, mysteriously, no alerts on that. It is reported of fish from the Pacific turning up with gross malformations. So this will be for the next 50,000 years or so? Cancer rates on Japan have since spiked alarmingly.
    https://www.wired.com/2016/03/cancer-rates-spiked-fukushima-dont-blame-radiation/
    http://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2015/10/31/national/media-national/cancer-fukushima-trust/#.WUv2iRMrJ7M
    Cheers Jamie

    Like

    Reply
    • How depressing! With all the alerts we DO need, there would be no time for anything else!

      Like

      Reply
      • Yup! It’s why I have mine turned off mostly. Using Android, one may do that easily. I also have Sleeptime enabled. Which turns them off, through selected hours. Perhaps it is not so odd, that the MSM chooses to ignore the radiation. I expect if the public truly knew what was happening, there would be riots? These nuclear power stations are an accident waiting to happen, wherever they are located. Since the late 19c. Nicholas Tesla’s inventions and understanding, of how our universe works. Would have seen free power for all. JP Mprgan squelched that. All wars are bankers wars. Cheers Jamie

        Like

        Reply
  6. And here we head off to New Orleans… seems like it won’t be as affected as we thought. Hope not anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. South Louisiana is getting hammered. Up to 15″ of rain in pockets here and there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

