RSS Feed

Don’t Let Your Children Grow Up Without The  Knowledge Of This Government Office…

Don’t Let Your Children Grow Up Without The  Knowledge Of This Government Office…

Unbeknownst to me, my fifth and last child, twenty-four years of age, has never set foot inside a United States Post Office. This came to my attention last night when he called to say he had ordered something online that he needed to return. “How do I do this? Where do I go? How much does it cost?”


I keep telling myself I wasn’t a bad mother. I had taught him the more important facts of life – how to do laundry, iron, make a bed, sweep, dust, do dishes, and cook eggs. I’m not sure if he practiced what I preached though. His sisters will tell you he is my favorite and I coddle him. Not true. He’s just my favorite son…


On the other hand, he has grown up in a world of technology and snail mail wasn’t  on his agenda. Packages ordered have been delivered right to his front door and music and computer programs are installed instantly online. 


Now I’m second guessing myself and wondering if he has ever been in a public library. Books could be ordered online or sent electronically to almost any electronic device since the time he was remotely interested in reading, and then it was mostly the reading of music which isn’t usually available in the public library.  Music libraries have been his priority. He visits the bookstore at school only when he is in dire need of something yesterday. 


So if you haven’t done it already, head on over to your local post office and show your kids around. They may thank you one day…

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

10 responses »

  1. My sons never mail anything unless all alternatives are exhausted, i.e. email, attachments to email, fax, text, Venmo, the cloud, etc. Once our generation passes, I doubt the post office will survive.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. This reminds me of my nephew, who graduated from a prestigious university only to realize that he had no idea how to open a checking account at an actual, physical bank.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Ha! It happens more often than not! I made my son visit the bank to take care of some business when he was home a couple months ago. It was an eye-opener for him. He still doesn’t take care of that account though. I give him his balance daily and keep a watch on it to transfer money from his savings when he gets low. I fear if he got overdrawn I’d have to come to the rescue and I don’t relish the idea! Maybe when he graduates from grad school I keep telling myself…sigh…

      Like

      Reply
  3. These days it can be quite confusing, not to mention the lines rival one you might find at Disneyland—minus the fun payoff.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I hate going to the post office. For some reason I find it utterly confusing! Too many options. I’d rather pay more money and go to ups or fed ex where they seem to just tell you what to do. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)

