RSS Feed

The Magic Trick – Names Have Been Changed To Protect The Innocent

The Magic Trick – Names Have Been Changed To Protect The Innocent

Sometimes you have to just laugh to keep from crying…take this scenario:

Young, beautiful, graceful, high school color guard member exits school bus dressed in uniform with face made to perfection. Her hair shining and streaming down her back glistens in the sunlight. She’s ready – ready for the first competition performance of the year. She smiles at me, satisfied with the fact that she is good to go with time to spare. I smile back – then I do a double take.

“Katy, where did you change into your uniform?” I question her quickly.

She looks at me knowingly as her friend and co-color guard member, Lexi, (also in her uniform, and ready to take the field) silently advances towards us to listen in on our conversation and maybe give a helping hand to her partner in crime. They know the rules. I’ve stated them enough.

Stuttering, Katy answers timidly, “O..o..on the bus.”

“On the bus?” There are boys on the bus!”  I look up at the windows on the big yellow school bus to make sure I am right about this. I see a flurry of elbows and band members twisting and turning and uniforms being zipped up the back. “You can’t change on the bus. How many times have I told you not to change on the bus?”

You see, the bus was full of band students dressing – male and female – but the catch to that is they put their uniforms on over their shorts and t-shirts. At least I assume they do. They should.

She looks at me with those bright blue eyes, long lashes fluttering and murmurs, “They told us to.”

“They? Who is they? They who?” I fire the questions rapidly, wanting to get to the bottom of this CG changing mystery and find out the name of the culprit.

“Well, Matt. Matt did.” She sneaks a sideways glance at her friend for back-up, but sadly wasn’t getting any.

“Beep-beep-beep-beep! Red flag! Red light! STOP! DO NOT PASS GO! A guy tells you to change on the bus and you do it? Are you crazy? What are you thinking? What is he thinking?

Then thinking to myself…Oh – wrong question. We know what he is thinking, don’t we?

“No..No…No…It’s not like that! We made a circle around us. No one could see.”

Lexi steps in…finally finding her voice. “Yeah. We just kinda slip our uniform on under our clothes and then pull our tops off.”

“Oh?” I say with raised eye brows. “I see. It’s sort of a magic trick?”

“Yes,” they answer in unison. “A magic trick.”

“Do not under any circumstance ever change on the bus again. Next week we will bring the changing tent if you feel it’s too far to walk to the bathrooms.”

End of discussion.

Names have been changed to protect the innocent…or not-so-innocent!

Life comes about too fast as it is. Is it wrong of me to try to keep these kids innocent just a while longer?

Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. Elle, it sounds like the changing circle of life, ha ha!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Oh my…more teenage drama. I think that changing tent should become a mascot pitched everywhere as a modest reminder. Matt indeed. That’s the horniest age, just a peek could send a kid over the edge.

    NO CHANGING ON THE BUS!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. In this day and age with cell phone cameras it’s just not a smart thing to do. No matter how nice everyone is, there just needs to be one person snapping one picture and it’s all over the internet. Smart advice Elle.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I’m with you–they shouldn’t be changing on the bus. Kids need adults like you who care enough about them to make and enforce reasonable rules.

    Like

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)