RSS Feed

Book Club 2024 – A Race To The Finish Line

Myself, along with my 4 daughters, daughter-in-law, and one of my granddaughters formed a book club in January to see who could read the most books in 2024.

We stay in touch with a group text every day and Goodreads.

As an incentive we all agreed to put $1 a week into a kitty and the winner got the pot. <Do The Math>

Of course, I knew I would win this race to prosperity because I read 📚 everyday! I read while I’m sewing, driving, cooking, folding laundry, and even while pretending to be watching a movie H is interested in. Audible is my lifesaver! 🛟

Then there were the “rules”:
1.) You can count books you read to your children as long as they are novel size. ✔️Fair
2.) Four Audio 📖📖📖📖 books count as one📘 “read” book! (I think they were targeting me!) ✔️Unfair

Their visioning 👀 on Audible reading is that they all don’t have the luxury of listening 🎧 all day what with their jobs and raising children. 🤷🏼‍♀️ I on the other hand…Well you get it, don’t you?

So far, I’ve “read” 10 books on Audible and 2 books on kindle. According to the “rules”, that adds up to only 4.5 for my total books read! In my brain it adds up to 12. It must be the new math!

Now do you think that’s a fair deal?

I may have to rethink my choice of how I read if I want to win this race!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

2 responses »

  1. to my way of thinking that is totally unfair. But of course they think they are being fair so there’s no easy answer to this question. I’m with you. I listen to audiobooks when I’m driving, when I am washing the dishes or doing the laundry. So keep on reading and I do hope you win the lottery.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)