RSS Feed

Are we having fun yet?

Are we having fun yet?

And the fun begins…Week two of social distancing and self-quarantining has begun.

What are you cooking in this time of crisis?

We eat out a lot. I never realized how much until now. With all the restaurants closed except for drive-throughs or take out, it has fallen on me to provide our meals. The cabinets, fridge, and freezer are stocked way beyond what is usual, but I still find myself staring at the bounty and wondering what to cook.

H is picky. No casseroles and not too much chicken in the diet for him. Mention soup and he cringes, but he always eats it when I make it. I love soup – any kind – and could eat it every day. H could live on eggs and spaghetti. (Not in the same meal) Me? Not so much. I could live on cheese and crackers.

Should I cook a roast we could eat on for three days? That would solve the cook-every-day problem. Maybe a meatloaf? That would last for two meals for sure. Maybe H can fire up the grill and we will cook hamburgers, and some of that good deer sausage I have in the freezer. I can refrigerate the leftovers and we can have them for lunches throughout the week. I bought bread and buns three days ago and I don’t want them to go stale. The roast can wait. 

What are you doing for exercise?

Our gym is closed so we now have an excuse to not go on a regular basis. Our gym membership is free through our health insurance so I’m not losing any money – or weight. The extent of my exercise is picking up after H all day. It’s like living with a teenager. You would think he is seventeen instead of seventy-plus. We may ride our bikes later this afternoon, steering clear of people who aren’t really out now anyway. 

What are you doing with all your free time?

I am usually a busy person with a lot of activities and crafts to keep me sane. While I sew, I listen to audiobooks. I was surprised to receive this email from Audible this past week.

Congratulations! You’ve earned a $20 Amazon credit for finishing three distinct titles that were each at least 3 hours long between January 1, 2020 and March 3, 2020.

I’ve logged a lot more hours than that but I won’t look a gift horse in the mouth!

I’ll be content with sewing, Cricuting, reading, and writing. H, on the other hand, is content watching tv and playing games on his phone. We do binge watch Netflix and Amazon Prime together at night, but we are running out of series that interest us both. 

Is going out an option?

I really want to chalk paint a piece of furniture since I have so much free time on my hands. I don’t have the paint color for it and am not going to Home Depot to purchase. Is Home Depot even opened? 

Andrew pointed out one day last week, when he called while I was at the grocery store, that we were in the elderly category and should not venture out. “What are you doing? You need to stay home!

We do have to eat, you know,” was my reply.

H is not as afraid to go out in public during this time as I am, so when we are in need, he is usually happy to go on the search. We now have four twenty-four packs of water, but no hand sanitizer. We have toilet paper, but not the brand I like. We also have plenty of snacks we don’t really need.

Stay in. Stay safe. Read more books!

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

6 responses »

  1. this article is very informative. thanks for sharing this greatful post.

    Like

    Reply
  2. We are staying home except for neighborhood walks and rare visits to the grocery stores. We don’t go out to eat much normally so not too much has changed there. Strange times.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I’m doing lots of cooking and trying to get some exercise. We went for a bicycle ride and a walk today.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. We are finishing up some projects. I have some books to read and I’m still blogging. Exercise is walking and I’m getting in my steps. We are waiting it out and hoping the end comes sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’m with you on that! I think my children are finding out less is better. With no dance, ball, or other after school activities they are getting a lot of family time. Haven’t heard any complaints yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)