RSS Feed

I Can’t Hear You!!! It’s A Classic

I Can’t Hear You!!! It’s A Classic

That’s a classic isn’t it? Sargent Carter and Gomer Pyle – I can’t hear you!!! Hearing is something most of us take for granted, seeing that we have been ‘hearing’ for years or ‘not hearing’ by choice. I can see why H doesn’t hear as well as he used to. Being in that band room all day surrounded by blaring horns and beating drums would affect anyone’s hearing after a considerable amount of time. He should get hazard pay.  I used to call his lack of understanding ‘not paying attention or  selective hearing’. He couldn’t hear me when I was next to him in a room, but you would be surprised what he could hear as I walked down the hall away from him muttering something not really intended for his ears. 😉

I guess I will have to blame my hearing problem on age. The older I get, the more I have to muddle through life not hearing as well. I hear better out of my right ear and H has better hearing in his left. It has gotten to the point where when traveling in the car we don’t hold a conversation for long. It is more one liners. If I was doing the driving it would be better because our two good ears would be facing each other. But…I drive as little as possible when he is riding shotgun. How I drive around all day by myself without wrecking the car is beyond me because according to him I don’t drive very well. 😦

We aren’t at the point yet where we need that dreaded hearing aid. You know the one – the batteries were forever draining and were expensive as all get out. Your mother or father may have had one and never wore it. “No Mom, it doesn’t do you a bit of good sitting in the drawer or on the table. Put your hearing aid on and turn it up!”

I have found a little trick though dealing with my cell phone. It’s a whole lot easier to hear on my phone if I use the set of ear buds that came with it. The voice on the other end comes through loud and clear – and I can multi-task easier. Have you ever tried holding your cell phone on your ear with your shoulder as you do all the chores you should be doing at the time of a call? I have tried to face-time many while talking and have even tried to include an unsuspecting third-party!

I found this article very interesting. Read this history of the hearing aid. from 1588 – now. (No, 1588 is not a typo.) “The first “official” mention of hearing aids appears in a book published in 1588, entitled Natural Magick.” Today’s hearing aids can fit on the tip of your finger and are invisible when worn. That’s a far cry from the wooden hearing aids that were carved into the shapes of ears belonging to animals with superior hearing!

So…until the day I may have to break down and admit I don’t hear quite as well as I used to, just bear with me and when I say, “What?” – Repeat that last sentence with a good heart. I’m too old to learn to read lips and if by chance I wasn’t wearing my contacts that feat would be useless anyway. You’ll be there too someday! It’s called getting old.

Elle

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

5 responses »

  1. Elle, my husband works in construction and has hearing loss. Yet sometimes he hears little things that I wouldn’t think he could. My own hearing isn’t as great as it was, but not bad.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, it’s those little things, but you can bet if I shouted something I didn’t want him to hear he would hear it. I still think he has some selective hearing. 😉 Don’t they all?

      Like

      Reply
  2. I was diagnosed at the beginning of the year with the early stages of hearing loss. It doesn’t bother me too much but when I am tired it is really noticeable. However, I was told at that point that hearing aids are not going to be any good for me at this point. So I just have to put up with it. So far, so good. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • If I know you Suz, you will just keep plugging along. You nevr know what mricles will come about in the years to come. It used to irritate me a little when H would tell me to quit mumbling because he couldn’t hear me. Now that I realize I wasn’t mumbling, he just couldn’t hear me, I have more compassion and know which side to stand on.

      Like

      Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)