RSS Feed

What Smells Worst Than Canned Cat Food?

What Smells Worst Than Canned Cat Food?

We have two cats and that’s not by choice. Tiger is the inherited cat and Foster is the well…foster cat. He just showed up on our doorstep one day as a kitten and he’s still here. They are both outside cats. Tigger was an inside cat, but we ran her out as soon as we inherited her. I know that sounds bad, but there were four in that house at the time and in an eleven hundred forty square foot house that was four cats and cat boxes too many!

These cats can not be caught. Every now and then you can reach down and have a quick pet and then off they run. They aren’t cuddly or playful. They just sleep and eat. Foster does like to earn his keep by delivering dead mice or a half eaten squirrel to our front door a couple of times a week.

Now don’t feel sorry for Foster and Tigger because I have let H take of the care of them and he takes care of them very well for someone who isn’t partial to cats. I’d take to them a little better if they were not so neurotic and such big fraidy cats. At least Tigger is a fraidy cat. She’s never brought us a mouse or squirrel. Maybe she’s just lazy.

They wait in the driveway every evening for H to return home and as he opens the front door they cautiously walk in behind him meowing to let him know it is dinner time. They sit and watch him prepare their food and then walk out the back door behind him to eat. That is the extent of their time indoors. In the mornings they are waiting at the back door for him to bring breakfast.

For breakfast they have a bowl of dry cat food. It stays out all day so they can nibble whenever they want. It also feeds a menagerie of turtles, birds and squirrels and a possum or two at dusk. Inside those bowls come  for the night so the raccoons don’t dirty up the water bowl washing their food. And we live in the city limits!

For their evening meal Tigger and Foster get to split a can of cat food. Yum-yum. Every now and then Foster is off prowling and misses his dinner. H puts his share in the fridge in a ziplock bag and if he makes it home before bedtime he will serve it to him on his very own paper plate.

Last night I heard H in the kitchen preparing the cat food meal. He doesn’t just dump it out. He divides it and chops it up with a spoon. I can’t watch. The smell makes me nauseous. You know that smell. I suddenly heard the microwave door open and then close and start. Hmmm?

“Please don’t tell me you put that cat food in my microwave.”

“It’s cold. It’s been in the refrigerator.”

Soooo. You want to know what smells worst than canned cat food? Warmed up cat food of course!

~Elle

 

 

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. Elle, You must have the patience of Job?

    For the first time in over 40 years I’m pet-less. It is a luxurious freedom. Of not worrying and cost. Vet bills are now outrageous.

    I love all animals. I love them so much, I won’t eat them.

    Their lives are so short. Here, then sadly gone. Cheers Jamie.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I feel so sorry for Rob and Natalia this weekend… They are keeping the SPOILED dog! I have already heard all the things I’ve done wrong in raising this animal. I have been known to heat his dogfood in the microwave before…but we won’t tell Rob that….
    I told Bob I sure hoped he didn’t poop or pee in their house. His reply was, “Turn about fair play!” Heaven only knows how much pee I’ve cleaned up in my house from their dog! Oh well, I hope things go smoothly! Maybe I’ll have a newer, well behaved dog when I return!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. LOL!!! I don’t know why but I just laughed. I can just imagine your H’s face and then your look of absolute disgust…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)