RSS Feed

WORDS AND PHRASES FROM A DIFFERENT ERA

WORDS AND PHRASES FROM A DIFFERENT ERA

H has a bad habit of asking me, when my eyes are closing for the night, if his clothes are clean. And by this he means, is all his laundry washed, dried, hung, and folded. “If it isn’t washed, it won’t get washed,” I mumbled at 1:15 am this morning. 

We had only moments before pulled into our driveway from an away game, stealing into our house quietly as though we were burglars not wanting to alarm the neighbors. And…that alarm would be sounding in less than three hours to wake us in time to be on the road again in the dark hours of early morning.  I didn’t think I was going to be functioning too well at an all-day marching festival on a scant three hours of sleep. 

Everything is washed and there is a load in the dryer if you just have to have something out of there.” And with that said, I closed my eyes. Can you tell I wasn’t going to worry about it? 

This morning H comes into the living room peering over the mound of clothes he’s holding, still warm from the dryer, and dumps them on the sofa next to me as I’m tying my shoes. “Weren’t there enough clothes in your closet? Did you need something out of here?” I questioned him knowing the majority of his clothing was hanging up. 

“I need a pair of slacks,” he said, pulling the one and only pair out of the pile. They were his favorite grey khakis. 

Hmmm? Slacks? I don’t believe Andrew would ever call a pair of his pants ‘slacks’, I thought as H headed down the hall to put ‘a press on his slacks’. Andrew would never say that either. 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

13 responses »

  1. Or dungarees, tennis shoes… And on that note do girls even know what a slip was originally for?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Oh, I hate that. Of course his clothes are clea, but if he did the laundry sometimes, he wouldn’t have to wonder! Now you got me started!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Life gets easier at retirement. I only have jeans and shorts in my closet. That just makes it easier. The clean jeans are also the dress jeans.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. Hi Elle,
    Wayne uses CLIP to describe a haircut. Why? Outdated!
    Thanks for the post.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Oh god, Elle, H sounds so much like me that it’s scary. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)