RSS Feed

See You In The Funny Papers

See You In The Funny Papers

The comic strip section in the newspaper is not read as often as it used to be. I remember my Dad reading it to me when I was young and now it’s my favorite part of the newspaper. Having a few chuckles with my breakfast is better than a cup of coffee, a beverage of which I don’t partake. 

I read the comic strips in the newspaper everyday. It’s what I turn to first before the depressing articles – some of disbelief. I believe this is one of the reasons I haven’t canceled my subscription. That and Del Stone, a local columnist who writes hilarious articles each week. He also has some great books out on Amazon as well. 

Most of the local and state news shows up on my Facebook feed the evening before the paper comes out since I follow the Daily News page. I would save about $26.00 a month if I read my paper from there. But…there would be no more comics to start off my day and tape to the fridge. 

Zits, situated between Wizard Of Id and Peanuts, has always been my favorite and he never fails to give me a laugh. I think it’s because he’s a typical teen whose antics -from laundry woes to school work to his band – often remind me of when Andrew was younger. 

These are the two latest cartoons I took a snapshot of and sent via text to Andrew. I’m not sure he appreciates my humor because he doesn’t always respond. If you read my blog you know Andrew is a percussionist so this situation with Zits friend, Pierce, fits him perfectly. 



Here are a few more goodies I have taped to my fridge. They’ve been there so long the edges are curling and the paper is fading! 


Sometimes Zits is written in a series that lasts a few days to a week. I have a true-to-life laundry senerio somewhere, but can’t put my hands on it at the moment. 

What’s your favorite cartoon strip? 

~Elle

About Elle Knowles

Elle Knowles lives in the Florida Panhandle with her husband and off-at-college-most-of-the-time son. She has four daughters, one son, and eleven beautiful grandchildren. 'Crossing the Line' is her first novel. The sequel 'What Line' is a work in progress. Recently published is Coffee-Drunk Or Blind - a nonfiction story of homesteading in the Alaska wilderness with her parents and four siblings, told through letters by her mother and remembered accounts from the family.

8 responses »

  1. This comic strip is one of my favorites too. I don’t subscribe to newspapers anymore, and you’re right. I do miss the comics. I had also enjoyed “Cathy.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I get my newspaper online … the stories are mundane and have as much actual news content as perhaps the wall of the local washroom? It does have a comics section though. I started reading a newspaper when about 6 or 7 years old. I remember the Suez crisis as it was called. Like you, the comic section was a big hit for me then. Some of those strips were romance stories and some detective, though most were cartoon strips. Pretty much the only one I read now, is called, “Get Fuzzy”. Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I only have one rule - Leave me your thoughts! ;)